Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Pulp Fiction

At Home
  • Chicken With Plums

  • Meeting Venus

  • Shelter Me

  • Huevos de Oro

  • Capitães de Abril

  • The Saddest Music in the World

  • Spanish Fly

  • My Life Without Me

  • Henry & June

  • Pulp Fiction

1 of 10

Maria de Medeiros Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Tiny and fairy-like, dark-haired beauty Maria de Medeiros was born in Portugal, the sister of actress [[Performer~P135891~Inês de Medeiros~inêsdemedeiros]]. After studying philosophy and acting on the stage, she made her Portuguese film debut in [[Feature~V150899~Silvestre~silvestre]] (1981) and her French film debut in [[Feature~V37305~Paris Seen By...20 Years After~parisvupar20ansapres]] (1984). Finding a home for herself in France, she stayed there to play several more supporting roles in French TV movies, miniseries, and features. She started appearing in historical costume dramas with [[Feature~V45708~Sorceress~lemoineetlasorcière]] and [[Feature~V143158~1871~1871]] before making her international debut in the erotic costume drama [[Feature~V22142~Henry & June~henryjune]] (1990), directed by [[Performer~P96903~Philip Kaufman~philipkaufman]]. As her first U.S. production, she was ideally cast as author Anaïs Nin , who wrote the source novel detailing her relationship with American novelist [[Performer~P49237~Henry Miller~henrymiller]] ([[Performer~P74620~Fred Ward~fredward]]) and his wife, June ([[Performer~P70905~Uma Thurman~umathurman]]). During this time, she also made her directorial debut with the hour-long drama The Prince's Death, based on the writings of Fernando Pessoa and originally performed on-stage. Now an international film star, she got several roles in Portugal ([[Feature~V144750~The Divine Comedy~adivinacomedia]]), France ([[Feature~V146422~The Man of My Life~lhommedemavie]]), and the U.K. ([[Feature~V32088~Meeting Venus~meetingvenus]]). She even made a few films in Spain, [[Feature~V148245~Golden Balls~huevosdeoro]] and [[Feature~V134178~Detective of Death~eldetectiveylamuerte]], both with [[Performer~P3887~Javier Bardem~javierbardem]]. In 1994, she appeared in[[Performer~P113658~Quentin Tarantino~quentintarantino]]'s big hit [[Feature~V131235~Pulp Fiction~pulpfiction]], her most recognizable performance to U.S. audiences. She played the small but memorable role of Fabienne, the girlfriend of boxer Butch Coolidge ([[Performer~P76618~Bruce Willis~brucewillis]]). Rather than stay in Hollywood, she returned to Europe to make scores of films in Portugal, Germany, Spain, and mostly France. She won a Best Actress award at the 1994 Venice Film Festival for her role in the dark drama [[Feature~V133878~Três Irmãos~trêsirmãos]], directed by [[Performer~P194367~Teresa Villaverde~teresavillaverde]]. In 2000, she made her feature-length debut as a writer, director, and star with the [[Feature~V201721~Capitães de Abril~capitãesdeabril]], a historical drama about the Portuguese coup d'état of 1974, winning several festival awards. After starring in the Italian comedy [[Feature~V244118~Honolulu Baby~honolulubaby]], she lined up several projects for 2003, including the French comedy [[Feature~V287201~I, Cesar~moicésar10ans12m39]] and the [[Performer~P100698~Guy Maddin~guymaddin]] film The Saddest Music in the World. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement