Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Luchino Visconti doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Gruppo di Famiglia in un Interno

  • Bellissima

  • Senso

  • The Innocent

  • Ludwig

  • Le Notti Bianche

  • Boccaccio '70

  • The Leopard

  • Death in Venice

  • The Damned

1 of 10

Luchino Visconti Biography

  • Profession: Director, Screenwriter
  • Born: Nov 2, 1906
  • Died: Mar 17, 1976
  • Birth Name: Don Luchino Visconti di Modrone

A director who heralded Italy's celebrated neorealist movement with his first film, Luchino Visconti was preoccupied with the moral disintegration of families. [[Feature~V36698~Ossessione~ossessione]] (1942) was an Italian version of [[Performer~P83829~James M. Cain~jamesmcain]]'s The Postman Always Rings Twice about a woman who murders her husband. [[Feature~V4764~Bellissima~bellissima]] (1951) examines a stage mother hell-bent on exploiting her daughter. And [[Feature~V41742~Rocco and His Brothers~roccoandhisbrothers]] (1960) chronicles a rural family seeking a better life in the city. Visconti's segment in 1962's [[Feature~V6460~Boccaccio '70~boccaccio70]] was a study of casual adultery, and his last (and perhaps best) film, [[Feature~V24895~The Innocent~theinnocent]] (1976), illustrated the consequences of an aristocrat's having neglected his wife. The upper class and their trials were recurring subjects of Visconti's work; he came from an extremely well-to-do family, and, like many sympathizers with communism, maintained a lavish lifestyle. One of his aristocracy-oriented movies, [[Feature~V99283~The Leopard~theleopard]] (1963), featured [[Performer~P98588~Burt Lancaster~burtlancaster]] and was considered by many to be a masterpiece. (A second film with [[Performer~P98588~Lancaster~burtlancaster]], [[Feature~V10899~Conversation Piece~gruppodifamigliainuninterno]] [1975], was less successful.) Visconti worked effectively and repeatedly with [[Performer~P100751~Anna Magnani~annamagnani]], [[Performer~P45026~Silvana Mangano~silvanamangano]] [[Performer~P10829~Claudia Cardinale~claudiacardinale]], [[Performer~P46339~Marcello Mastroianni~marcellomastroianni]], [[Performer~P87436~Alain Delon~alaindelon]], [[Performer~P7026~Dirk Bogarde~dirkbogarde]], and [[Performer~P5614~Helmut Berger~helmutberger]]. The director also wrote the screenplays for many of his own films, including successful adaptations of novels by both [[Performer~P310849~Albert Camus~albertcamus]] ([[Feature~V111992~The Stranger~lostraniero]] [1967]) and [[Performer~P217900~Thomas Mann~thomasmann]] ([[Feature~V12944~Death in Venice~deathinvenice]], [1971]). Visconti died in 1976. ~ Rovi

Advertisement