Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Louis Garrel doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Beloved

  • La Belle Personne

  • La Frontière de l'Aube

  • Love Songs

  • Dans Paris

  • Regular Lovers

  • Ma Mère

  • The Dreamers

1 of 8

Louis Garrel Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Screenwriter, Director
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Primarily known in the U.S. for his memorable performance in director [[Performer~P81701~Bernardo Bertolucci~bernardobertolucci]]'s controversial 2003 drama [[Feature~V285859~The Dreamers~thedreamers]], Paris-born actor Louis Garrel made his first onscreen appearance in the 1989 film [[Feature~V141953~Les Baisers de Secours~lesbaisersdesecours]] ([[Feature~V141953~Emergency Kisses~lesbaisersdesecours]]). While it was over a decade until Garrel would appear onscreen again, his comeback role in [[Performer~P294564~Rodolphe Marconi~rodolphemarconi]]'s 2001 [[Feature~V250500~Ceci Est Mon Corps~ceciestmoncorps]] ([[Feature~V250500~This Is My Body~ceciestmoncorps]]) marked the beginning of a spectacular run that would find him working with some of the biggest directors on the international film scene and winning his very first César Award (for the 2005 film [[Feature~V332976~Les Amants Réguilers~regularlovers]] [[[Feature~V332976~Regular Lovers~regularlovers]]]). Shortly after portraying the male half of a cinema-obsessed pair of siblings in [[Performer~P81701~Bertolucci~bernardobertolucci]]'s [[Feature~V285859~The Dreamers~thedreamers]], Garrel stunned viewers with his performance as a young man who loses his father and subsequently follows his amoral mother on a hedonistic journey of depravity in [[Performer~P322727~Christophe Honoré~christophehonoré]]'s adaptation of the notorious [[Performer~P400870~Georges Bataille~georgesbataille]] novel Ma Mère. On the heels of his critically acclaimed performance in [[Feature~V332976~Les Amants Réguilers~regularlovers]], Garrel again teamed with [[Performer~P322727~Honoré~christophehonoré]] for [[Feature~V350877~Dans Paris~dansparis]] in 2006 and [[Feature~V398830~Les Chansons d'Amour~lovesongs]] in 2007. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement