Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Bad Santa

At Home
  • North

  • Jack the Dog

  • God's Waiting List

  • In Good Company

  • Manhood

  • Mulan II

  • Man Trouble

  • Bad Santa

  • Blue Steel

  • Rooftops

1 of 10

Lauren Tom Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Aug 4, 1961
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A multi-talented actress who's just as comfortable on the stage as she is before the cameras, Lauren Tom has built quite an impressive resumé by establishing herself as one of the most prolific small-screen players of her generation. While fans of such popular television sitcoms as [[Feature~V258653~Friends~friends[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V374931~Men in Trees~menintrees[tvseries]]] are no doubt familiar with her face, Tom has also crafted an impressive voice-over career thanks in large to work on such animated television series as [[Feature~V256492~Batman Beyond~batmanbeyond[animatedtvseries]]], [[Feature~V177618~Futurama~futurama[animatedtvseries]]], and [[Feature~V282465~King of the Hill~kingofthehill[animatedtvseries]]].
Though she would first gain notice as the dutiful daughter of an Asian-American family attempting to bridge the gap between the past and the present in [[Feature~V119009~The Joy Luck Club~thejoyluckclub]], Tom had already been acting in film and television for over a decade -- her career gradually gaining momentum thanks to bit parts in such films as [[Feature~V53205~Wall Street~wallstreet]], [[Feature~V6292~Blue Steel~bluesteel]], and [[Feature~V7802~Cadillac Man~cadillacman]]. Two years after her breakout performance in [[Feature~V119009~The Joy Luck Club~thejoyluckclub]], Tom would shine in her recurring role as Ross' girlfriend Julie in [[Feature~V258653~Friends~friends[tvseries]]]. While her onscreen presence was indeed captivating, audiences would soon discover that Tom's unique voice could be a huge asset to any number of animated productions. Though in the following years, Tom's voice could be heard in a variety of animated releases, onscreen performances in shows like [[Feature~V269501~Monk~monk[tvseries]]] and movies such as [[Feature~V285775~Bad Santa~badsanta]] proved that the increasingly active voice-over artist was still very much committed to her onscreen career as well. In 2006, Tom made a sizable impression on theatergoers by relating her quest for inner peace in her Dramalogue Award-winning one-woman show 25 Psychics. With a Broadway background that has included performances in A Chorus Line and Hurly Burley, Tom has a ready comfort on the stage that has allowed her to focus on her impressive storytelling skills.
In 2006, Tom was back in front of the camera keeping television viewers in stitches as mail-order bride (Mai) to crusty pilot Buzz ([[Performer~P1409~John Amos~johnamos]]) in the rural comedy drama [[Feature~V374931~Men in Trees~menintrees[tvseries]]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement