View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Sing

  • The Boxtrolls

  • Dr. Seuss' The Lorax

  • Horton Hears a Who

  • Shrek 2

1 of 5
At Home
  • Sing

  • The Boxtrolls

  • Witchboard 2: The Devil's Doorway

  • Dr. Seuss' The Lorax

  • Tangled

  • Immigrants

  • Mr. Mike's Mondo Video

  • Horton Hears a Who

  • Barnyard

  • The Ant Bully

1 of 10

Laraine Newman Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Mar 2, 1952
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A student of mime artist [[Performer~P45295~Marcel Marceau~marcelmarceau]], LA-born Laraine Newman utilized her artistic training in the cause of comedy. In 1972, she joined the Groundlings improvisational troupe (spawning ground for such major comic talents as [[Performer~P93625~Phil Hartman~philhartman]] and Paul "Pee-wee Herman" Reubens), making her film debut with several fellow improvvers in the 1975 pastiche [[Feature~V51229~Tunnelvision~tunnelvision]]. She went on to work as an ensemble player on the 1975 summer-replacement TV variety series [[Feature~V31295~Manhattan Transfer~manhattantransfer]]. From 1975 through 1980, Laraine was a regular on the ground-breaking weekend comedy series [[Feature~V108912~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynight]]. While her contributions were always well-received, Laraine tended to play third banana to the other SNL ladies [[Performer~P58422~Gilda Radner~gildaradner]] and [[Performer~P16273~Jane Curtin~janecurtin]], reportedly because of her acute shyness. Her best moments on the series occurred when she played alien teenager Laarta in the "Coneheads" sketches; her particular low point was the time she nearly drowned during a "witch-hunt" sketch starring [[Performer~P101485~Steve Martin~stevemartin]]. Free of her SNL duties in 1980, Laraine played a supporting role in Woody Allen's Stardust Memories, and was featured in such "comedy salads" (Ms. Newman's own term for feature films overloaded with TV comedians) as [[Feature~V54438~Wholly Moses~whollymoses]] (1980) and [[Feature~V55750~Yellowbeard~yellowbeard]] (1982). The world first saw Ms. Newman's new nose job when she co-starred in the 1985 [[Performer~P71670~John Travolta~johntravolta]]-[[Performer~P16288~Jamie Lee Curtis~jamieleecurtis]] starrer [[Feature~V37708~Perfect~perfect]]. The following year, Laraine hosted a syndicated "bad movie" TV anthology, Canned Film Festival. Laraine Newman's screen appearances of the 1990s have included the role of Susan Rock in 1993's The Flintstones and a revival of Laarta in the like-vintage [[Feature~V10744~The Coneheads~coneheads]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi