Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Hidden

At Home
  • Breathe In

  • Peace, Love & Misunderstanding

  • Mao's Last Dancer

  • Rich in Love

  • Justice League: The New Frontier

  • Don't Tell Her It's Me

  • Touch of Pink

  • Mad Dog Time

  • Northfork

  • Where the Day Takes You

1 of 10

Kyle MacLachlan Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Feb 22, 1959
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Born in 1959, Washington native Kyle MacLachlan, among other things, claims to be a descendent of the legendary composer [[Performer~P80335~Johann Sebastian Bach~johannsebastianbach]]. However, unlike his very distant relative, MacLachlan made his mark not in music, but in television and film. After performing in a variety of local theater productions throughout his youth -- and acting out scenes from the popular Hardy Boys fiction series in his even younger years -- MacLachlan made his feature-film debut in director [[Performer~P100454~David Lynch~davidlynch]]'s adaptation [[Feature~V14962~Dune~dune]] in 1984. This would mark the first of many collaborations with [[Performer~P100454~Lynch~davidlynch]]; in 1986, [[Performer~P100454~Lynch~davidlynch]] cast MacLachlan as a young man shocked at what lies under a small town's picture-perfect facade in [[Feature~V6299~Blue Velvet~bluevelvet]]. A year later, MacLachlan starred as an alien FBI agent in [[Feature~V132739~The Hidden~thehidden]], [[Performer~P111288~Jack Sholder~jacksholder]]'s 1987 cult hit.

MacLachlan, however, wouldn't gain true mainstream notoriety until 1989, when [[Performer~P100454~David Lynch~davidlynch]] called upon the young actor to play another FBI agent; this time, he was Special Agent Dale Cooper, who was sent to a small Washington town to investigate the murder of a young girl in ABC's popular but ultimately short-lived prime-time drama, [[Feature~V216953~Twin Peaks~twinpeaks[tvseries]]]. The role would earn him two Emmy nominations for Lead Actor in a Drama Series and pave the way for more silver-screen roles, some of which include [[Performer~P101133~Ray Manzarek~raymanzarek]] in [[Performer~P112907~Oliver Stone~oliverstone]]'s [[Feature~V14394~The Doors~thedoors]] (1991), villain Cliff Vandercave in [[Feature~V131161~The Flintstones~theflintstones]] (1994), and a falsely accused bank clerk in [[Feature~V81758~The Trial~thetrial]] (1993). MacLachlan offered several relatively well-received starring and supporting performances throughout the mid- to late '90s, and did what he could for his role in [[Performer~P206576~Paul Verhoeven~paulverhoeven]]'s famous 1995 flop, [[Feature~V135793~Showgirls~showgirls]].

Luckily, the late '90s to early 2000s were much kinder to MacLachlan. In addition to playing another smooth agent in [[Performer~P97774~David Koepp~davidkoepp]]'s [[Feature~V136236~The Trigger Effect~thetriggereffect]] (1996), which some critics claimed was his best performance since [[Feature~V6299~Blue Velvet~bluevelvet]], the actor also was cast as King Claudius in [[Performer~P79406~Michael Almereyda~michaelalmereyda]]'s adaptation of [[Performer~P314726~Shakespeare~williamshakespeare]]'s Hamlet. However, it was television that once again made MacLachlan a household name, albeit temporarily. In 2000, he joined the cast of HBO's multiple-award-winning series [[Feature~V250366~Sex and the City~sexandthecity[tvseries]]] as Charlotte's ([[Performer~P238934~Kristin Davis~kristindavis]]) mama's boy husband, Trey. In 2003, MacLachlan starred in the Bravo network's popular documentary series, [[Feature~V293245~The Reality of Reality~therealityofreality[tvdocumentaryseries]]]. Over the coming years, McLachlan wouldenjoy successful arcs on popular TV shows, like How I Met Your Mother, Desperate Housewives, and Portlandia. ~ Tracie Cooper, Rovi

Advertisement