Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • GoodFellas

At Home
  • Life of Crime

  • Winter's Tale

  • Somebody Up There Likes Me

  • Supporting Characters

  • Seven Psychopaths

  • The Dictator

  • Jumpin' at the Boneyard

  • Lost Angels

  • Today's Special

  • The Chaperone

1 of 10

Kevin Corrigan Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Mar 27, 1969
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

One of the most prolific and reliably excellent actors on the independent film circuit, Kevin Corrigan has made a name for himself portraying a painfully memorable array of geeks, stoners, and generally pathetic losers. Consistently good at playing bad, he has elevated the expression of basic freakishness into something of an underrated art form.

A native of the Bronx, where he was born March 27, 1969, Corrigan first became interested in acting as a teenager. At the age of 17, his play The Boiler Room was produced by the Young Playwrights Festival of New York. The 1990s got off to a promising start for Corrigan with a supporting role as [[Performer~P42611~Ray Liotta~rayliotta]]'s brother in [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]]'s critically acclaimed [[Feature~V20351~Goodfellas~goodfellas]] (1990). More gangster action followed the next year with a part in [[Feature~V5625~Billy Bathgate~billybathgate]], but Corrigan then took a turn toward smaller features with [[Feature~V56128~Zebrahead~zebrahead]], a 1992 film that opened to generally positive reviews but little box-office action. After supporting roles in [[Feature~V121901~The Saint of Fort Washington~thesaintoffortwashington]] and [[Feature~V51149~True Romance~trueromance]] (both 1993), Corrigan had a substantial part in director [[Performer~P190463~Matthew Harrison~matthewharrison]]'s [[Feature~V133883~Rhythm Thief~rhythmthief]], a black-and-white drama that won Harrison a directing award at the 1995 Sundance Film Festival. The film marked the beginning of Corrigan's immersion in the growing and increasingly lucrative world of independent film, with supporting roles in [[Performer~P87646~Tom DiCillo~tomdicillo]]'s acclaimed [[Feature~V133594~Living in Oblivion~livinginoblivion]] (1995), in which the actor provided laughs as a dimbulb cameraman, and [[Feature~V136352~Trees Lounge~treeslounge]] (1996), the directorial debut of Corrigan's Oblivion co-star [[Performer~P9838~Steve Buscemi~stevebuscemi]]. The same year, Corrigan had substantial roles in the well-received independent comedy [[Feature~V135538~Walking and Talking~walkingandtalking]], in which he had a memorable turn as a nebbishy video clerk who sleeps with [[Performer~P37341~Catherine Keener~catherinekeener]], and [[Feature~V136773~Illtown~illtown]], a crime drama in which he starred with [[Performer~P70063~Lili Taylor~lilitaylor]] and [[Feature~V56128~Zebrahead~zebrahead]] co-star [[Performer~P58816~Michael Rapaport~michaelrapaport]].

Following a turn as a stoner guitarist in the obscure [[Feature~V135533~Bandwagon~bandwagon]] (1996) and a supporting role in [[Performer~P93619~Hal Hartley~halhartley]]'s 1997 film [[Feature~V158680~Henry Fool~henryfool]], Corrigan co-wrote and starred in the comedy [[Feature~V154983~Kicked in the Head~kickedinthehead]], his second collaboration with [[Feature~V133883~Rhythm Thief~rhythmthief]] director Harrison. The film had the distinction of being executive produced by [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]], who had signed on after being favorably impressed by [[Feature~V133883~Rhythm Thief~rhythmthief]]. The film was also notable for the fact that the misadventures of Corrigan's character -- a guy who gets kicked out of his apartment and dumped by his girlfriend -- were based on events in the actor's own life. He would later remark that the film was a form of therapy and followed it up with what was essentially a form of therapy for another director, [[Performer~P239898~Tamara Jenkins~tamarajenkins]]' [[Feature~V162515~The Slums of Beverly Hills~slumsofbeverlyhills]] (1998). Playing a Manson Family-obsessed stoner, Corrigan made a repugnantly vivid impression in the widely acclaimed film and the same year made a similar impression with his role as [[Performer~P90927~Vincent Gallo~vincentgallo]]'s best friend in [[Feature~V160462~Buffalo '66~buffalo66]]. After a small part in [[Performer~P188298~Paul Auster~paulauster]]'s [[Feature~V162490~Lulu on the Bridge~luluonthebridge]] (which premiered at the 1998 Cannes Film Festival), Corrigan worked on two more independents, the omantic drama [[Feature~V177558~Roberta~roberta]], which premiered at the 1999 Sundance Festival and featured Corrigan in a lead role as a shy computer expert, and [[Feature~V180661~Coming Soon~comingsoon]], which opened at the Los Angeles Independent Film Festival in April of the same year. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement