Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Smurfs

At Home
  • The Smurfs 2

  • The Magic of Belle Isle

  • The Smurfs

  • Stan Helsing

  • Space Chimps

  • Wieners

  • Two Weeks

  • Snakes on a Plane

  • Here Comes Peter Cottontail: The Movie

  • Fat Albert

1 of 10

Kenan Thompson Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: May 10, 1978
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Best known for his 2005 live-action rendering of the [[Performer~P85992~Bill Cosby~billcosby]] character Fat Albert on the big screen -- a character he brought to life with the aid of a trusty fat suit and the trademark, "Hey, Hey, Hey!" -- wunderkind comic Kenan Thompson honed his skills as a small fry by entertaining classmates with uproarious comedy routines on the playground in his childhood home of Atlanta. Thompson landed his big break by auditioning at age 15 for [[Feature~V295408~All That~allthat[tvseries]]], a Nickelodeon sketch comedy series that (like [[Feature~V323028~The Mickey Mouse Club~themickeymouseclub[tvseries]]] of years prior) functioned as a kind of unofficial petri dish for burgeoning young talent. Series producer and director [[Performer~P60530~Brian Robbins~brianrobbins]] reportedly viewed Thompson's audition, tagged his ability to mimic and his comic timing as "dead-on," and hired the young man on the spot. The young comic wowed Nickelodeon, and network heads not only offered him his own sitcom within a year, co-starring another young schtickmeister, [[Performer~P228573~Kel Mitchell~kelmitchell]], but a network-produced movie, the 1997 [[Feature~V156959~Good Burger~goodburger]] (also starring [[Performer~P228573~Mitchell~kelmitchell]]).

Numerous additional film roles ensued, and though [[Performer~P228573~Mitchell~kelmitchell]] began with goofy, schtick-heavy comedies ([[Feature~V260390~Master of Disguise~masterofdisguise]] [2002], [[Feature~V271050~My Boss' Daughter~mybosssdaughter]] [2003]), he periodically revealed an interest in stretching his ability into other genres, such as avant-garde/experimental video ([[Feature~V331030~Public Lighting~publiclighting]] [2004]) and action-saturated horror ([[Feature~V313497~Snakes on a Plane~snakesonaplane]] [2006]). In 2008, however, Thompson hearkened back to comedy by voicing one of the titular primates in the goofy live-action fantasy [[Feature~V347996~Space Chimps~spacechimps]]. Meanwhile, alongside his film work, Thompson achieved even greater success on the small screen. His debut series, [[Feature~V295408~All That~allthat[tvseries]]], had been conveniently described by more than one critic as "[[Feature~V175321~SNL~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] for the small set," and paved the way for Thompson's involvement in the real [[Feature~V175321~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]]; he joined the [[Feature~V175321~SNL~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] cast in 2003. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement