Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Water for Elephants

At Home
  • The Lords of Salem

  • Hangfire

  • Viper

  • Water for Elephants

  • The Haunted World of El Superbeasto

  • Brotherhood of Blood

  • Halloween

  • From Beyond

  • Phantom of the Mall: Eric's Revenge

  • The Devil's Rejects

1 of 10

Ken Foree Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Ken Foree built a substantial career playing toughs, thugs, and heavies on both sides of the law. He maintained a certain amount of prestige for the first decade or so of his acting tenure. Foree debuted as a goon in one of the more critically respected racially themed films of the 1970s: the sports comedy [[Feature~V5692~The Bingo Long Traveling All-Stars and Motor Kings~thebingolongtravelingallstarsandmotorkings]] (1976), starring [[Performer~P107177~Richard Pryor~richardpryor]] and [[Performer~P76383~Billy Dee Williams~billydeewilliams]]. Foree followed it up with a turn as a National Guardsman valiantly defending his nation against hordes of rampaging zombies (from inside a shopping mall) in the cult classic [[Feature~V12579~Dawn of the Dead~dawnofthedead]] (1978), played a black sportsman in [[Performer~P384970~Phil Kaufman~philkaufman]]'s period piece [[Feature~V53272~The Wanderers~thewanderers]] (1979), and re-teamed with [[Performer~P108784~George A. Romero~georgearomero]] for the medieval fantasy [[Feature~V27583~Knightriders~knightriders]] (1981).

Small roles in two critically respected A-listers -- [[Performer~P10397~James Cameron~jamescameron]]'s [[Feature~V49101~The Terminator~theterminator]] (1984) and [[Performer~P107177~Richard Pryor~richardpryor]]'s [[Feature~V26230~Jo Jo Dancer, Your Life Is Calling~jojodanceryourlifeiscalling]] (1986) -- did much to cement Foree's reputation as a reliable player, but thereafter, he began to sink into less respectable material, with a strong emphasis on long-form work and direct-to-video exploitationers. Pictures such as the 1991 [[Feature~V21405~Hangfire~hangfire]] and the 1992 [[Feature~V16884~Fatal Charm~fatalcharm]] did little to further Foree's career. By the late '90s and well into the 2000s, he seemed typecast as a horror player, in movies such as [[Feature~V154485~The Dentist~thedentist]] (1996), [[Feature~V290584~The Devil's Rejects~thedevilsrejects]] (2005), and [[Feature~V351975~Halloween~halloween]] (2007). ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement