Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Bad Words

At Home
  • Bad Words

  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

  • Afternoon Delight

  • We're the Millers

  • The Dictator

  • Wanderlust

  • Our Idiot Brother

  • How Do You Know

  • The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard

  • Revolutionary Road

1 of 10

Kathryn Hahn Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jul 23, 1974
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A native of Cleveland, OH, actress Kathryn Hahn received her first taste of show business in the late '80s, when the then-teenager scored a live-action role opposite several puppets on the locally produced children's program Hickory Hideout. Hahn formally studied acting at the Yale School of Drama, and just prior to her final year of 2000-2001 (in mid-summer stock), the performer caught the attention of an NBC casting recruiter, who tapped her for a regular role on the prime-time drama [[Feature~V255243~Crossing Jordan~crossingjordan[tvseries]]]; she played amiable grief counselor Lily Lebowski for the full run of the series (2001-2007).

Meanwhile, film roles began pouring in right and left, beginning with visible turns as [[Performer~P263367~Kate Hudson~katehudson]]'s health editor roommate in the hit romantic comedy [[Feature~V274884~How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days~howtoloseaguyin10days]] (2003), and as a barmaid with more than a passing crush on [[Performer~P242491~Topher Grace~tophergrace]] in [[Performer~P290896~Robert Luketic~robertluketic]]'s gentle romantic comedy [[Feature~V286548~Win a Date with Tad Hamilton!~winadatewithtadhamilton]] (2004). Hahn subsequently commenced a long series of assignments for Hollywood's highest-profiled directors and producers, including bit parts in the [[Performer~P188203~Judd Apatow~juddapatow]]-[[Performer~P367020~Adam McKay~adammckay]] farce [[Feature~V288094~Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy~anchorman:thelegendofronburgundy]] (2004) and [[Performer~P102687~Nancy Meyers~nancymeyers]]' romantic comedy [[Feature~V342793~The Holiday~theholiday]] (2006), and a small supporting role in the [[Performer~P111063~Robert Shaye~robertshaye]]-directed fantasy [[Feature~V348997~The Last Mimzy~thelastmimzy]] (2007).

After her [[Feature~V255243~Crossing Jordan~crossingjordan[tvseries]]] role ended with the series' cancellation in 2007, Hahn was able to work more freely in other venues, which became apparent with her output in 2008. She took on another cinematic supporting turn in the [[Performer~P224449~Will Ferrell~willferrell]]-[[Performer~P59476~John C. Reilly~johncreilly]] comedy [[Feature~V357813~Step Brothers~stepbrothers]] and starred opposite [[Performer~P18926~Leonardo DiCaprio~leonardodicaprio]] and [[Performer~P198332~Kate Winslet~katewinslet]] in the period suburban drama [[Feature~V395937~Revolutionary Road~revolutionaryroad]]. That same year, Hahn made her Broadway debut in the Tony award-winning play Boeing-Boeing. Over the next serveral years, Hahn would remain an active force on screen, appearing in fukns kuje The Dictator and Our Idiot Brother, as well as on shows like Parks and Recreation and Girls. Throughout her various assignments, Hahn drew high praise for her comedic ability, which netted occasional comparisons to [[Performer~P9666~Carol Burnett~carolburnett]]. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement