Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • 27 Dresses

At Home
  • The Nut Job

  • The Big Wedding

  • Zyzzyx Road

  • One for the Money

  • New Year's Eve

  • Life as We Know It

  • Killers

  • The Ugly Truth

  • 27 Dresses

  • Knocked Up

1 of 10

Katherine Heigl Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Nov 24, 1978
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Katherine Heigl was an experienced movie actress by the time she was cast as one of the out-of-this-world teenagers on WB's [[Feature~V181389~Roswell~roswell[tvseries]]] in 1999. Born and raised in Connecticut, Heigl began modeling and appearing in TV ads as a child. After making her film debut in [[Feature~V154154~That Night~thatnight]] (1992), Heigl balanced movie work with high school, playing a small role in [[Performer~P112040~Steven Soderbergh~stevensoderbergh]]'s Depression-era drama [[Feature~V27445~King of the Hill~kingofthehill]] (1993), starring as [[Performer~P87517~Gérard Depardieu~gérarddepardieu]]'s difficult daughter in [[Feature~V131124~My Father the Hero~myfatherthehero]] (1994), and [[Performer~P110609~Steven Seagal~stevenseagal]]'s niece in the action sequel [[Feature~V134939~Under Siege 2: Dark Territory~undersiege2:darkterritory]] (1995). Heigl headed to Los Angeles after high school to make acting her full-time job. Following a leading role in [[Feature~V163251~Wish Upon a Star~wishuponastar]] (1996) and a small part as a [[Performer~P31340~Rita Hayworth~ritahayworth]] stand-in in [[Feature~V160056~Stand-Ins~standins]] (1997), Heigl made a foray into horror with [[Feature~V176641~Bug Buster~bugbuster]] (1998) and [[Feature~V173556~Bride of Chucky~brideofchucky]] (1998).

Branching out into television, Heigl co-starred with [[Performer~P90081~Peter Fonda~peterfonda]] in a [[Performer~P314726~Shakespeare~williamshakespeare]]-via-Civil War reworking of [[Feature~V174330~The Tempest~thetempest]] (1998). Benefiting from the late-'90s wave of youth-driven TV shows, Heigl stayed with television and attracted an avid following as alien beauty Isabel on the cult hit [[Feature~V181389~Roswell~roswell[tvseries]]]. The doctors-in-love dramedy Grey's Anatomy, however, catapulted its entire cast to full-fledged stardom when it premiered in 2005; Heigl's role as the tough-cookie intern Izzie endeared her to countless fans of the show. The actress savvily parlayed this success into a movie career, although not by going the traditional three-hanky drama route. After winningly playing a Special Olympics counselor in 2005's broad comedy The Ringer, Heigl seemed the perfect choice for writer-director Judd Apatow's follow-up to The 40-Year-Old Virgin, 2007's Knocked Up. The improv-heavy tale of an unlikely one-night-stand - and its consequences - relied upon Heigl's charm and crack comedic timing to balance out the dude-centric humor supplied by co-stars Seth Rogen and Paul Rudd. The combination worked, as audiences made Knocked Up a bona-fide summer hit.

In the coming years, Heigl woudl find herself becomming the go-to actress for successful, light, romantic comedies, like 27 Dresses (2008), The Ugly Truth (2009), Life as We Know It (2010), New Year's Eve (2011), and One for the Money (2012). ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

Advertisement