Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Justin Timberlake doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Inside Llewyn Davis

  • Runner Runner

  • Trouble With the Curve

  • In Time

  • Friends With Benefits

  • Bad Teacher

  • Yogi Bear

  • The Social Network

  • The Love Guru

  • Southland Tales

1 of 10

Justin Timberlake Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Executive Producer
  • Born: Jan 31, 1981
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Notorious for spearheading the "teen pop revolution" of the mid to late '90s, alongside [[Performer~P301848~Britney Spears~britneyspears]], [[Performer~P295828~Christina Aguilera~christinaaguilera]], and others (and the inheritor of superstardom from male heartthrobs of earlier generations such as [[Performer~P11649~David Cassidy~davidcassidy]] and [[Performer~P54360~Donny Osmond~donnyosmond]]), Justin Timberlake attained a reputation as one of the pop music scene's most talked about celebs. He also became a source of constant tabloid fodder -- not only for his relationships with [[Performer~P301848~Spears~britneyspears]], [[Performer~P195733~Cameron Diaz~camerondiaz]], and others, but for his allegedly unbridled private life.

Timberlake launched his career as a youngster on the Mickey Mouse Club set, then made his name as a member of [[Performer~P353074~*NSYNC~nsync]] and as a soloist before branching out into films in the very early 2000s. As an actor, he began small, with a cameo appearance in the [[Performer~P112816~Ben Stiller~benstiller]]-directed [[Feature~V252771~Zoolander~zoolander]] -- an off-the-wall farce about a bunch of inane male models led by [[Performer~P112816~Stiller~benstiller]] and [[Performer~P200996~Owen Wilson~owenwilson]]. While Timberlake's walk-on was a bit part at most, the exposure helped him expand his range and his repertoire, while the subject of the film coyly spoofed his public image. Small-screen appearances on [[Feature~V269621~The Osbournes~theosbournes[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V175321~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] followed, but it wasn't until 2005 that the then 24-year-old Timberlake became a top-billed movie star. In that year's [[Feature~V304986~Edison Force~edisonforce]], in which Timberlake co-starred with movie giants [[Performer~P67045~Kevin Spacey~kevinspacey]] and [[Performer~P90514~Morgan Freeman~morganfreeman]], the former teen idol played Joshua Pollack, a straight-faced, straight-arrow journalist determined to take on a league of crooked rollers. The picture was released straight to DVD in late 2006 and earned tepid reviews.

The singer upped his film appearances in 2006, with a plethora of first-run roles. He stuck to the crime thriller genre with his follow-up to [[Feature~V304986~Edison~edisonforce]], [[Feature~V317023~Alpha Dog~alphadog]] (2006). Directed by [[Performer~P11630~Nick Cassavetes~nickcassavetes]] ([[Feature~V154964~She's So Lovely~shessolovely]], [[Feature~V259468~John Q.~johnq]]) from his own script, the picture stars [[Performer~P239003~Emile Hirsch~emilehirsch]] ([[Feature~V290380~The Girl Next Door~thegirlnextdoor]]) as an über-powerful drug dealer who kidnaps a youngster to collect a ransom the boy's older brother's tab; Timberlake plays one of [[Performer~P239003~Hirsch~emilehirsch]]'s henchmen, who inducts the tyke into the wild side of life. In 2007's [[Feature~V331163~Black Snake Moan~blacksnakemoan]], Timberlake plays the boyfriend of [[Performer~P59916~Christina Ricci~christinaricci]]'s nympho Rae -- a girl who becomes the hostage of an aging African-American blues musician ([[Performer~P34866~Samuel L. Jackson~samuelljackson]]). Timberlake also appears in a supporting role in [[Feature~V325848~Southland Tales~southlandtales]] (2006, directed by [[Feature~V237115~Donnie Darko~donniedarko]]'s [[Performer~P299369~Richard Kelly~richardkelly]]) and voices the rebellious prince Artie (a young King Arthur) alongside longtime paramour [[Performer~P195733~Diaz~camerondiaz]] in 2007's [[Feature~V322186~Shrek the Third~shrekthethird]]. In 2008 he played potent hockey player Jacque "Le Coq" Grande in Mike Myers comedy The Love Guru, but he scored the most high-profile success of his film career in 2010 when he played Napster founder Sean Parker in David Fincher's award-winning Facebook film The Social Network. He followed that up in 2011 with the romantic comedy Friends With Benefits and the sci-fi film In Time. The next year he appeared in the Coen brothers' Inside Llewyn Davis. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement