Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Waking Life

At Home
  • 21 Years: Richard Linklater

  • Before Midnight

  • 2 Days in New York

  • Voyager

  • L.A. Without a Map

  • The Air I Breathe

  • 2 Days in Paris

  • Investigating Sex

  • The Hoax

  • The Legend of Lucy Keyes

1 of 10

Julie Delpy Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Screenwriter
  • Born: Dec 21, 1969
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Known for both her blonde, ethereal beauty and her considerable talent, Julie Delpy is one of the most popular French actresses of her generation. Born to show business parents in Paris on December 21, 1969, Delpy was discovered at age 14 by director [[Performer~P91804~Jean-Luc Godard~jeanlucgodard]], who cast her in his 1985 [[Feature~V118341~Détective~détective]]. The young actress had her first starring role two years later as the title character in [[Performer~P113717~Bertrand Tavernier~bertrandtavernier]]'s [[Feature~V65384~La Passion Béatrice~lapassionbéatrice]], and then gained worldwide prominence with her portrayal of a young pro-Nazi eager to produce babies for the Fuhrer in Agneiszka Holland's [[Feature~V16131~Europa, Europa~europaeuropa]] (1991).

Subsequent efforts to make Delpy a mainstream Hollywood actress in such films as [[Feature~V119909~The Three Musketeers~thethreemusketeers]] (1993) were largely resisted by Delpy herself, who demonstrated a preference for appearing in the small, thought-provoking films best appreciated at cinema festivals. She made some of her more memorable appearances in [[Feature~V133621~Killing Zoe~killingzoe]] (1994), which cast her as a kind-hearted prostitute; Krzysztof Kieslowski 's [[Feature~V131195~Trois Couleurs: Blanc~white]] (1994), in which she played a young woman who divorces her hairdresser husband because of his impotency; and [[Performer~P99850~Richard Linklater~richardlinklater]]'s [[Feature~V133986~Before Sunrise~beforesunrise]] (1995), in which she gave an excessively charming portrayal of a woman who has a 24-hour romance with a young American ([[Performer~P31094~Ethan Hawke~ethanhawke]]) she meets on a train.

Delpy continued to be most visible in small, quirky films, as evidenced by her roles in [[Feature~V173758~L.A. Without a Map~lawithoutamap]] (1998), and [[Feature~V181371~But I'm a Cheerleader~butimacheerleader]] (1999), the latter of which -- a comedy about a rehab house for gay and lesbian teens -- cast her as a lipstick lesbian. In addition to the steady stream of parts in little-seen independent films, Delpy took on a recurring role on the hit NBC medical drama ER in 2001.

In 2004, Delpy reteamed with Linklater and Hawke for the sequel Before Sunset, a film the three are also credited with writing together.

In 2007 she wrote, directed, edited, and starred in the romantic comedy 2 Days in Paris opposite fellow [[Performer~P99850~Richard Linklater~richardlinklater]] alum Adam Goldberg. She followed that directorial effort with The Countess in 2009 and 2 Days in New York in 2011. That same year, rumors swirled of a possible sequel to Before Sunset. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement