Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

John McMartin doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Dream Lover

  • No Reservations

  • Day One

  • Who's That Girl?

  • Kinsey

  • The Greatest Man in the World

  • Pennies from Heaven

  • A Shock to the System

  • Brubaker

  • Sweet Charity

1 of 10

John McMartin Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Born in Indiana and raised in Minnesota, John McMartin attended college in both Illinois and New York. McMartin initially wanted to be a print or radio journalist, but opted instead for acting. His first big break was as Corporal Billy Jester in the 1959 off-Broadway operetta spoof [[Feature~V99816~Little Mary Sunshine~littlemarysunshine]], which won him both a Theatre World award and a bride (he married Cynthia Baer, one of the show's producers). After appearing in two [[Performer~P90209~Bob Fosse~bobfosse]]-directed productions, he enjoyed a long run as Gwen Verdon's nervous boyfriend Oscar in Fosse's [[Feature~V48091~Sweet Charity~sweetcharity]] (1965). He went westward to repeat the role of Oscar in the 1969 film version of [[Feature~V86980~Charity~charity]], but preferred New York to Hollywood and returned to the stage. In 1971, he was cast as Benjamin Stone in the [[Performer~P112126~Stephen Sondheim~stephensondheim]] hit Follies (nine years earlier, he'd been cut from Sondheim's [[Feature~V18964~A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum~afunnythinghappenedonthewaytotheforum]]). He then spent several years playing classical-and non-musical-stage roles. Throughout his Broadway years, he made infrequent film and TV appearances; he played supporting roles in such movies as [[Feature~V1613~All the President's Men~allthepresidentsmen]] (1976) and [[Feature~V37640~Pennies from Heaven~penniesfromheaven]] (1980), was briefly a regular on Falcon Crest, guested as Shelley Fabares' father on the sitcom Coach, and was seen in the made-for-TV features [[Feature~V43732~Separate but Equal~separatebutequal]] (1991) and [[Feature~V9735~Citizen Cohn~citizencohn]] (1992). One of his most intriguing TV assignments was the 1965 pilot film for the never-sold lawyer series [[Feature~V22421~Higher and Higher~higherandhigher]], in which his co-stars were a couple of green kids named [[Performer~P37443~Sally Kellerman~sallykellerman]] and [[Performer~P94585~Dustin Hoffman~dustinhoffman]]. In the 1990s, John McMartin scored a huge success as Captain Andy in producer Hal Prince's gargantuan revival of Show Boat. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement