Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Promised Land

At Home
  • The Wind Rises

  • Monsters University

  • Promised Land

  • Nobody Walks

  • Big Miracle

  • Something Borrowed

  • It's Complicated

  • Brief Interviews With Hideous Men

  • Away We Go

  • Monsters vs. Aliens

1 of 10

John Krasinski Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Oct 20, 1979
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Best known to small-screen devotees as sales representative Jim Halpert, the eternally patient, undeclared admirer of Pam Beesly ([[Performer~P390758~Jenna Fischer~jennafischer]]) on [[Performer~P434128~Greg Daniels~gregdaniels]]' hit NBC sitcom/mockumentary [[Feature~V326360~The Office~theoffice[tvseries]]], Massachusetts native John Krasinski graduated from Rhode Island's Brown University in 2001 as an honors playwright, but quickly segued into acting. Within three years launched himself into films, predominantly with bit roles and supporting parts, but consistently echoing the promise that he would soon find himself among number-one box-office draws and Tinseltown heartthrobs. By 2006, in fact, People Magazine featured Krasinski in its "Sexiest Men" issue, a testament to the actor's rapidly growing recognition in the eyes of the public.

Born October 20, 1979, Krasinski grew up and attended high school in Newton, an affluent western suburb of Boston. After receiving his degree from Brown, Krasinski studied at the National Theater Institute. 2004 marked the actor's "breakthrough year," with fleeting appearances in no less than four A-list productions. That year, he had bit parts as Ben in the American Zoetrope film [[Feature~V290324~Kinsey~kinsey]], a biopic of sex researcher [[Performer~P587649~Alfred Kinsey~alfredkinsey]], directed by [[Performer~P85649~Bill Condon~billcondon]] and starring [[Performer~P52070~Liam Neeson~liamneeson]]; Bob Flynn in [[Performer~P51220~Matt Mulhern~mattmulhern]]'s finely wrought (and underappreciated) alcoholism drama [[Feature~V307921~Duane Hopwood~duanehopwood]] starring [[Performer~P211130~David Schwimmer~davidschwimmer]]; Messenger #3 in [[Performer~P266034~Tim Story~timstory]]'s urban comedy [[Feature~V289996~Taxi~taxi]], with [[Performer~P40714~Queen Latifah~queenlatifah]] and [[Performer~P301488~Jimmy Fallon~jimmyfallon]]; and the British CG-animated fantasy [[Feature~V306114~Doogal~doogal]] (aka, [[Feature~V306114~The Magic Roundabout~doogal]]), which didn't find U.S. release until early 2006. The first two of these films were widely lauded sleepers, the last two critically despised (though they failed to hurt Krasinski's career, given the low profile of his involvement).

[[Feature~V326360~The Office~theoffice[tvseries]]] followed in 2005. Adapted by [[Performer~P434128~Daniels~gregdaniels]] from a hit 2001 British series of the same title, the program -- a ratings bonanza on NBC -- stars [[Feature~V288531~Daily Show~thedailyshow[tvseries]]] vet [[Performer~P10850~Steve Carell~stevecarell]] as Michael Scott, the tactless, vain, pushy, and loudmouthed (yet well-meaning) director of the Dunder-Mifflin paper company. While [[Performer~P10850~Carell~stevecarell]]'s off-the-wall antics spiked the series with a never-ending source of hilarity, the gradually developing relationship between Krasinski's Jim and [[Performer~P390758~Fischer~jennafischer]]'s Pam (two straight roles) brought the series weight and solicited interest from those viewers seeking deeper and more meaningful character development. Perhaps sensing this, [[Performer~P434128~Daniels~gregdaniels]] opted to stretch their courtship at a snail's pace over the course of several seasons.

Krasinski would appear in several movies even as The Office's success continued on the small screen, like [[Feature~V313654~Jarhead~jarhead]], [[Feature~V342793~The Holiday~theholiday]], [[Feature~V331949~For Your Consideration~foryourconsideration]], [[Feature~V351159~License to Wed~licensetowed]], [[Feature~V361870~Leatherheads~leatherheads]], [[Feature~V430036~Away We Go~awaywego]], and Big Miracle. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement