Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

John Hawkes doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Life of Crime

  • Night of the Scarecrow

  • Lincoln

  • The Sessions

  • Martha Marcy May Marlene

  • Higher Ground

  • Contagion

  • Winter's Bone

  • Small Town Saturday Night

  • S. Darko

1 of 10

John Hawkes Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Sep 11, 1959
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Prolific character actor John Hawkes earned a new level of recognition with his role as Bugsy, the slow-witted fisherman who provides [[Performer~P106242~Wolfgang Petersen~wolfgangpetersen]]'s [[Feature~V186759~The Perfect Storm~theperfectstorm]] (2000) with a degree of comic relief. Hailing from Austin, TX, Hawkes, who bears a vague resemblance to [[Performer~P64436~Tom Selleck~tomselleck]], began his career as an actor and musician. After relocating to Los Angeles, where he moved to do further stage work, the actor wrote and performed Nimrod Soul, a one-man show staged at the Theatre at the Improv. He subsequently found work on television and broke into film in the late '80s. In addition to doing supporting turns in a large variety of films, including [[Feature~V121824~Flesh and Bone~fleshandbone]] (1993), From Dusk Till Dawn (1996), and [[Feature~V173844~I Still Know What You Did Last Summer~istillknowwhatyoudidlastsummer]] (1998), Hawkes also did guest work on such long-running TV shows as [[Feature~V179305~E.R.~er[tvseries]]] and The X-Files. In 1999, he was cast in one of his first leading roles in A Slipping-Down Life, a well-received big screen adaptation of Anne Tyler's novel of the same name that also starred [[Performer~P70063~Lili Taylor~lilitaylor]] and [[Performer~P206590~Guy Pearce~guypearce]]. With his casting the following year in [[Feature~V186759~The Perfect Storm~theperfectstorm]], a summer smash that featured him acting alongside the likes of [[Performer~P13722~George Clooney~georgeclooney]], [[Performer~P198251~Mark Wahlberg~markwahlberg]], and [[Performer~P59476~John C. Reilly~johncreilly]], it seemed that Hawkes' career was entering a new and possibly more lucrative phase. Over the next several years, he would appear in a number of films, like Identity, Miami Vice, American Gangster, Winter's Bone, and Higher Ground. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement