Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Glory

At Home
  • The Lifeguard

  • Trojan War

  • The Human Stain

  • A Shock to the System

  • Loose Cannons

  • Analyze That

  • Catch Me If You Can

  • The Desperate Hours

  • The Pope of Greenwich Village

  • True Crime

1 of 10

John Finn Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

With a countenance that can effortlessly suggest a beleaguered everyman or a no-nonsense tough, American character actor John Finn has sustained a prolonged and impressively varied career. A New York City native, Finn received one of his earliest assignments under the aegis of [[Performer~P108917~Stuart Rosenberg~stuartrosenberg]], as Ginty in the ethnic drama (and cult hit) [[Feature~V38673~The Pope of Greenwich Village~thepopeofgreenwichvillage]] (1984). The actor's resumé over the following ten years packed in a series of key Hollywood films of varying quality -- from the wonderful [[Performer~P118079~Ed Zwick~edwardzwick]] drama [[Feature~V19993~Glory~glory]] (1989) and the fine [[Performer~P105408~Alan Pakula~alanjpakula]] political thriller [[Feature~V119901~The Pelican Brief~thepelicanbrief]] (1993) to the [[Performer~P13329~Bob Clark~bobclark]] buddy comedy [[Feature~V30031~Loose Cannons~loosecannons]] (1990). Finn also appeared in occasional telemovies, notably the 1991 [[Feature~V154125~Posing: Inspired by Three Real Stories~posing:inspiredbythreerealstories]], as Jimmy Lanahan, the husband of homemaker-turned-Playmate Meredith Lanahan ([[Performer~P11433~Lynda Carter~lyndacarter]]). After appearances on such hit series as [[Feature~V163252~The X-Files~thexfiles[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V258668~Frasier~frasier[tvseries]]], and [[Feature~V216959~NYPD Blue~nypdblue[tvseries]]], and parts in the major studio releases [[Feature~V249845~Catch Me If You Can~catchmeifyoucan]] and [[Feature~V260381~Analyze That~analyzethat]] (2002), Finn landed one of his first regular series roles, playing Lieutenant John Stillman on the popular detective program [[Feature~V295888~Cold Case~coldcase[tvseries]]]. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement