Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Joely Richardson doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Endless Love

  • Vampire Academy

  • Thanks for Sharing

  • Red Lights

  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

  • Anonymous

  • The Last Mimzy

  • Loch Ness

  • Shining Through

  • Wetherby

1 of 10

Joely Richardson Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 9, 1965
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

British actress Joely Richardson is the daughter of actress [[Performer~P59206~Vanessa Redgrave~vanessaredgrave]] and director [[Performer~P108201~Tony Richardson~tonyrichardson]], the granddaughter of actors [[Performer~P59205~Michael Redgrave~michaelredgrave]] and [[Performer~P37643~Rachel Kempson~rachelkempson]], niece of actors Corin and [[Performer~P59204~Lynn Redgrave~lynnredgrave]], and sister of actress [[Performer~P60084~Natasha Richardson~natasharichardson]]. Thus, it would be fair to say that Richardson has acting in her genes. Her film credits range from [[Performer~P92456~Peter Greenaway~petergreenaway]]'s arthouse favorite [[Feature~V14844~Drowning By Numbers~drowningbynumbers]] (1988) -- in which she is one of three murderesses, all named Cissy Colpitts -- to the abortive musical [[Feature~V131120~I'll Do Anything~illdoanything]] (1993) to the winning 1996 remake of [[Feature~V136586~101 Dalmatians~101dalmatians]]. She has repeatedly demonstrated a capacity for tackling difficult subjects, as was the case with [[Feature~V133952~Sister My Sister~sistermysister]] (1994), which cast her as a maid caught up in an incestuous lesbian love affair with her sister, and [[Feature~V135860~Hollow Reed~hollowreed]] (1996), in which she played the divorced mother of a young boy who is abused by her live-in boyfriend. In 2000, she was seen in a number of projects, including the romantic comedy [[Feature~V181897~Return to Me~returntome]] and the revolutionary war drama The Patriot. In 2003, Richardson landed a starring role as Dr. Sean McNamera's (Dylan Walsh) frustrated wife on F/X's popular nighttime drama, Nip/Tuck. A quick transition to The Tudors followed when Nip/Tuck went off the air in 2010, and following a turn as Young Queen Elizabeth I in Roland Emmerich's Shakespearian conspiracy drama Anonymous (2011), Richardson could been seen as the mysterious Anita Vanger in David Fincher's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement