Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Maleficent

  • Heaven Is for Real

1 of 2
At Home
  • Million Dollar Arm

  • Coupe De Ville

  • Sabotage

  • Heaven Is for Real

  • Oz the Great and Powerful

  • Snow White and the Huntsman

  • Where the River Runs Black

  • Americathon

  • Knight and Day

  • Alice in Wonderland

1 of 10

Joe Roth Biography

  • Profession: Producer, Executive Producer, Director
  • Born: Jun 13, 1948
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A onetime communications major at Boston University, producer/director Joe Roth worked as a production assistant with several San Francisco-based film companies. Utilizing several of the improvisational comics who had worked with him at Los Angeles' Pitchel Players (he ran lights while they got laughs), Roth produced an inexpensive "TV of the future" spoof called [[Feature~V51229~Tunnelvision~tunnelvision]]. The film did well on its first release in 1976, and even better in later years by virtue of its stars-in-the-making cast, which included [[Performer~P12488~Chevy Chase~chevychase]], [[Performer~P114011~Betty Thomas~bettythomas]], [[Performer~P32068~Howard Hesseman~howardhesseman]], and [[Performer~P111481~Ron Silver~ronsilver]]. After several years' worth of low-budget but high-grossing films like [[Feature~V3642~Bachelor Party~bachelorparty]] (1984) and [[Feature~V33566~Moving Violations~movingviolations]] (1986), Roth made his directing bow with [[Feature~V47316~Streets of Gold~streetsofgold]] (1986). Forming Morgan Creek productions with partner Jim Robinson, Roth continued his winning box-office record with such films as [[Feature~V55981~Young Guns~youngguns]] (1988) and [[Feature~V12719~Dead Ringers~deadringers]] (1989). In 1989, Roth made [[Feature~V11209~Coupe de Ville~coupedeville]]. That same year, he became chairman of 20th Century Fox's theatrical film division, toting up more hits ([[Feature~V54318~White Men Can't Jump~whitemencantjump]], [[Feature~V72519~Die Hard 2~diehard2]], Sleeping With the Enemy) than misses ([[Feature~V4016~Barton Fink~bartonfink]]). His last months at Fox were marred with disappointments like [[Feature~V79921~Toys~toys]] (1992) and [[Feature~V22698~Hoffa~hoffa]] (1992), but Roth had gained a strong reputation for having the uncanny knack for attracting and mollifying some of the biggest and most difficult talents in Hollywood; one magazine characterized him as "filmmaker friendly." From Fox, Roth moved to Disney's Caravan Pictures unit, raking in the bucks with productions like [[Feature~V131215~Angels in the Outfield~angelsintheoutfield]] (1994). In September of 1994, Joe Roth replaced [[Performer~P266361~Jeffrey Katzenberg~jeffreykatzenberg]] as Disney CEO, and in so doing became the first director ever to hold that position in a major studio; he proved his worthiness for that position almost instantly with the smash Yuletide release [[Feature~V133893~The Santa Clause~thesantaclause]] (1994).
Producing a number of moderately successful films through the latter 1990s, Roth returned to the director's chair in 2001 with [[Feature~V247222~America's Sweethearts~americassweethearts]]. Scripted and produced by [[Performer~P86318~Billy Crystal~billycrystal]], [[Feature~V247222~America's Sweethearts~americassweethearts]] spun the humorous tale of a movie star couple's bitter split on the eve of embarking on a press junket to promote their latest film. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement