Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Joe Don Baker doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Power

  • Mud

  • Mitchell

  • Welcome Home, Soldier Boys

  • Golden Needles

  • Wild Rovers

  • The Outfit

  • Strange Wilderness

  • Criminal Law

  • Joy Sticks

1 of 10

Joe Don Baker Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Feb 12, 1936
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Veteran character actor Joe Don Baker has been playing rugged good ol' boys since his uncredited role in [[Feature~V10957~Cool Hand Luke~coolhandluke]] in 1967. Born in Texas, his Southern drawl and ample proportions made him suitable to play countless numbers of simple-minded sheriffs, cops, and detectives in everything from big-budget blockbusters to low-grade action movies, although he more often appeared in the latter. On TV in the '60s, he guest starred on [[Feature~V132988~Bonanza~bonanza[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V284313~Gunsmoke~gunsmoke[tvseries]]], and [[Feature~V175187~Mission: Impossible~mission:impossible[tvseries]]] before starring in his own show, the short-lived detective series Eischied. On the big screen, he played the drifter in [[Performer~P105940~Sam Peckinpah~sampeckinpah]]'s [[Feature~V26791~Junior Bonner~juniorbonner]] in 1972. He same year he made the "hicksploitation" classic [[Feature~V53195~Walking Tall~walkingtall]], followed by [[Feature~V8960~Charley Varrick~charleyvarrick]], [[Feature~V93514~Golden Needles~goldenneedles]], [[Feature~V18421~Framed~framed]], and plenty of other poorly made action thrillers that have since gained a small but appreciative audience on home video. The best example is 1975 crime flick [[Feature~V32964~Mitchell~mitchell]], which was featured on an important transitional episode of [[Feature~V175211~Mystery Science Theater 3000~mysterysciencetheater3000[tvseries]]]. Baker plays the titular slob detective who goes after drug dealers while drinking a lot of Schlitz malt liquor and eating pork rinds. After this movie, he became something of a legendary figure to a small but loyal fan base, and his persona as a lovable rascal was fixed for the next few decades. In the '80s he appeared in bad comedies ([[Feature~V17781~Fletch~fletch]], [[Feature~V28957~Leonard, Part 6~leonardpart6]]) as well as bad action thrillers ([[Feature~V17294~Final Justice~finaljustice]], [[Feature~V19583~Getting Even~gettingeven]]). In 1989, he returned to television to play acting chief Tom Dugan on In the Heat of the Night and made small appearances in films, like the police chief who drinks Pepto-Bismol in [[Feature~V8064~Cape Fear~capefear]] (1991). He did branch out a little in the '90s to play [[Performer~P302956~Senator Joseph McCarthy~josephmccarthy]] in the made-for-TV movie [[Feature~V9735~Citizen Cohn~citizencohn]] as well as [[Performer~P62446~Winona Ryder~winonaryder]]'s yuppie dad in [[Feature~V131129~Reality Bites~realitybites]]. His later accomplishments include three [[Feature~V158529~James Bond~jamesbond[filmseries]]] appearances, first in [[Feature~V29760~Living Daylights~thelivingdaylights]] as a bad guy, then in [[Feature~V135622~Goldeneye~goldeneye]] and [[Feature~V158896~Tomorrow Never Dies~tomorrowneverdies]] as good guy Jack Wade. He returned to his stereotypical roots playing white-trash slobs as Richie's trailer park dad in [[Feature~V136613~Mars Attacks!~marsattacks]] and in an uncredited role in [[Feature~V240533~Joe Dirt~joedirt]]. In 2003, he appeared with veterans [[Performer~P40247~Martin Landau~martinlandau]], [[Performer~P111083~Martin Sheen~martinsheen]], and [[Performer~P2608~Edward Asner~edasner]] in The Commisson. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement