Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Home

At Home
  • Wish I Was Here

  • The Muppets

  • The Big Year

  • The Signal

  • 10 Items or Less

  • Heights

  • Garden State

1 of 7

Jim Parsons Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

First noticed by many viewers as Tim -- the Klingon-spouting "knight in training" involved with the mother of Mark ([[Performer~P237700~Peter Sarsgaard~petersarsgaard]]) in [[Performer~P267664~Zach Braff~zachbraff]]'s gently observed comedy drama [[Feature~V300994~Garden State~gardenstate]] (2004) -- American actor Jim Parsons moved from this memorable debut into a sequence of periodic roles in U.S. features. These included [[Performer~P380215~Chris Terrio~christerrio]]'s urban ensemble drama [[Feature~V296115~Heights~heights]] (2004), opposite [[Performer~P13725~Glenn Close~glennclose]] and [[Performer~P292126~Elizabeth Banks~elizabethbanks]], and [[Performer~P167497~Brad Silberling~bradsilberling]]'s comedy drama [[Feature~V345264~10 Items or Less~10itemsorless]] (2006), opposite [[Performer~P90514~Morgan Freeman~morganfreeman]] and [[Performer~P272006~Paz Vega~pazvega]]. His breakout success came when he was cast as uber-nerd Sheldon on The Big Bang Theory. His work on that show led to him scoring an Emmy win for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series, and helped him earn small parts on the big screen in The Big Year and The Muppets. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement