Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Frank Miller's Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

  • The Pirates! Band of Misfits

  • Grosse Pointe Blank

1 of 3
At Home
  • Frank Miller's Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

  • Twogether

  • So Undercover

  • The Pirates! Band of Misfits

  • Angels Crest

  • I Melt With You

  • Spy Kids: All the Time in the World

  • The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard

  • RocknRolla

  • The Kingdom

1 of 10

Jeremy Piven Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jul 26, 1965
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Classically trained character actor Jeremy Piven shot to stardom as [[Performer~P17737~Ellen DeGeneres~ellendegeneres]]' unforgettable, sharp-witted cousin Spence on the ABC sitcom Ellen. Born in New York City on July 26, 1965, Piven is the son of actors [[Performer~P57007~Byrne~byrnepiven]] and [[Performer~P57009~Joyce Piven~joycehillerpiven]]. He grew up in Evanston, IL, where his parents founded the Piven Theater Workshop. He studied theater at his parents' school alongside [[Performer~P70063~Lili Taylor~lilitaylor]], [[Performer~P2417~Rosanna Arquette~rosannaarquette]], and pal [[Performer~P16329~John Cusack~johncusack]]. The longtime friends, who began by performing [[Performer~P316603~Chekhov~antonchekhov]] at age eight, have collaborated on several films -- including [[Feature~V36353~One Crazy Summer~onecrazysummer]] (1986), [[Feature~V43033~Say Anything~sayanything]] (1989), [[Feature~V20935~The Grifters~thegrifters]] (1990), [[Feature~V133623~Floundering~floundering]] (1994), [[Feature~V154792~Grosse Pointe Blank~grossepointeblank]] (1997), and [[Feature~V253784~Serendipity~serendipity]] (2001). They also co-founded the New Criminals Theater Company in 1989, which is now New Crime Productions, the company behind [[Feature~V154792~Grosse Pointe Blank~grossepointeblank]] and the [[Performer~P16329~Cusack~johncusack]] vehicle [[Feature~V184533~High Fidelity~highfidelity]] (2002).

A former member of the Second City National Touring Company, Piven made his small-screen debut on [[Performer~P9666~Carol Burnett~carolburnett]]'s short-lived variety show Carol and Company in 1990. He went on to play a writer on HBO's [[Feature~V263257~The Larry Sanders Show~thelarrysandersshow[tvseries]]] and to appear on Seinfeld before starring as an unemployed father on the short-lived series Pride & Joy. Disney, who produced Pride & Joy, then created a role for him on Ellen. After the sitcom's cancellation in April 1998, Piven landed his own show, the offbeat ABC comedy-drama [[Feature~V173466~Cupid~cupid[tvseries]]]. Also starring Piven's real-life neighbor [[Performer~P45818~Paula Marshall~paulamarshall]], [[Feature~V173466~Cupid~cupid[tvseries]]] followed the infamous matchmaker after he had been thrown out of heaven for bad behavior and attempted to earn his reentry by uniting 100 couples in true love without using his otherworldly powers. The series won critical acclaim and earned Piven quite a following. Yet, as with many of the network's more innovative shows, ABC mishandled [[Feature~V173466~Cupid~cupid[tvseries]]], shuffling it in and out of prime time until its inevitable cancellation. Undaunted, Piven returned to television a year later to guest star on [[Feature~V173518~Will & Grace~willgrace[tvseries]]].

While Piven's film career has suffered the same ups and downs as his time on television, it is marked by numerous scene-stealing supporting performances. After making his feature-film debut in [[Feature~V30428~Lucas~lucas]] (1986), the actor appeared in [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]]'s [[Feature~V38437~The Player~theplayer]] (1992), [[Performer~P86281~Cameron Crowe~cameroncrowe]]'s [[Feature~V44879~Singles~singles]] (1992), and [[Performer~P108437~Tim Robbins~timrobbins]]' [[Feature~V6418~Bob Roberts~bobroberts]] (1992). He fell into a slump with failures like [[Feature~V121611~Judgment Night~judgmentnight]] (1993) and [[Feature~V132264~Car 54, Where are You?~car54whereareyou]] (1994), but became a cult favorite for his portrayal of a campus misfit in [[Feature~V132832~P.C.U.~pcu]] (1994). Standout roles opposite [[Performer~P55134~Sarah Jessica Parker~sarahjessicaparker]] in [[Feature~V133985~Miami Rhapsody~miamirhapsody]] (1995), [[Performer~P17593~Robert De Niro~robertdeniro]] in [[Feature~V135459~Heat~heat]] (1995), [[Performer~P103861~Bill Murray~billmurray]] in [[Feature~V136682~Larger Than Life~largerthanlife]] (1996), and [[Performer~P90514~Morgan Freeman~morganfreeman]] in [[Feature~V158674~Kiss the Girls~kissthegirls]] (1997) quickly followed. He then proved to be the only good thing in [[Performer~P5586~Peter Berg~peterberg]]'s [[Feature~V173513~Very Bad Things~verybadthings]] (1998), before playing [[Performer~P10155~Nicolas Cage~nicolascage]]'s best friend in [[Feature~V229073~The Family Man~thefamilyman]] (2000). Piven took a respectable dramatic turn as a doomed helicopter pilot in [[Performer~P110579~Ridley Scott~ridleyscott]]'s award-winning [[Feature~V257740~Black Hawk Down~blackhawkdown]], but returned to comedy for Old School (2003), a film by the makers of [[Feature~V186769~Road Trip~roadtrip]] (2000).

Piven continued his work in entourage and took a starring role in Chappelle's Show director Neal Brennan's farcical comedy The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard in 2009. 2011 found the actor playing the dreaded Timekeeper in Spy Kids: All the Time in the World, he would portray another villain, this time in a voice role, for the children's adventure The Pirates! Band of Misfits in 2012.

Then, in 2005, Piven scored the iconic role of Ari Gold on the HBO series Entourage. The show turned out to be a massive success, and Piven's profile was raised considerably, making him more of a household name, and helping him to score more interesting roles outside the show, like washed-out magician Buddy Isreal in the 2006 over-the-top action blow-out Smokin' Aces, and Damon Schmidt in the 2007 political thriller The Kingdom. In 2008, he joined the cast of the Guy Ritchie London crime movie RocknRolla. ~ Aubry Anne D'Arminio, Rovi

Advertisement