Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Stuart Little

  • The Doors

1 of 2
At Home
  • The Secret Lives of Dorks

  • Empire of Silver

  • 30 Beats

  • Bart Got a Room

  • Deal

  • The Civilization of Maxwell Bright

  • Tideland

  • Bailey's Billion$

  • Saint Ralph

  • El Padrino: The Latin Godfather

1 of 10

Jennifer Tilly Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Sep 16, 1958
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Jennifer E. Chan

A raven-haired actress with an unmistakable voice, Jennifer Tilly was born in Los Angeles, CA, in 1958. Following her parents' divorce when she was five, Tilly relocated with her mother and siblings to the rural setting of Texada Island, British Columbia, where she'd spend most of her childhood. Tilly's acting career began in the early '80s with small roles on shows like [[Feature~V175069~Hill Street Blues~hillstreetblues[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V174892~Cheers~cheers[tvseries]]]. Her big break came with the part of Monica the singing waitress in 1989's [[Feature~V16507~The Fabulous Baker Boys~thefabulousbakerboys]] -- a part that was written for her specifically. Though she divorced [[Feature~V175345~Simpsons~thesimpsons[animatedtvseries]]] producer [[Performer~P111579~Sam Simon~samsimon]] in 1984, she continued to show up in films like [[Feature~V14394~The Doors~thedoors]] and [[Feature~V131106~Body Snatchers~bodysnatchers]] throughout the '90s, and in 1994 she was nominated for an Oscar for her role in [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]'s [[Feature~V133401~Bullets Over Broadway~bulletsoverbroadway]]. Another memorable role came in 1996, when she acted opposite [[Performer~P26607~Gina Gershon~ginagershon]] in the erotically charged [[Feature~V135539~Bound~bound]].

In 1998, Tilly delighted horror fans with a tongue-in-cheek turn in [[Feature~V173556~Bride of Chucky~brideofchucky]], voicing the title role and helping to bring a comic twist to the franchise. She soon found another avenue for her comedic voice talents by joining the cast of the animated series [[Feature~V288489~Family Guy~familyguy[animatedtvseries]]] as the show's perpetually pregnant neighbor, Bonnie. She then went on to lend her voice talent to such titles as [[Feature~V255531~Monsters, Inc.~monstersinc]], [[Feature~V181270~Stuart Little~stuartlittle]], and [[Feature~V283306~The Haunted Mansion~thehauntedmansion]]. In 2005, Tilly won a World Series of Poker bracelet and a cash prize of 158,625 dollars in the Ladies' No-Limit Texas Hold 'Em event. She went on to win the third World Poker Tour Ladies Invitational Tournament and subsequently become a popular and formidable competitor in the world of high-stakes poker as well as the wife of professional poker player Phil Laak.

She continued to work steadily in a variety of projects including Tideland, Deal, and Empire of Silver.
~ Cammila Collar, Rovi

Advertisement