Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Jason Ritter doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Free Samples

  • The East

  • The End of Love

  • Brooklyn Brothers Beat the Best

  • The Perfect Family

  • A Bag of Hammers

  • The Perfect Age of Rock 'n' Roll

  • The Dry Land

  • Peter and Vandy

  • Paper Heart

1 of 10

Jason Ritter Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Producer
  • Born: Feb 17, 1980
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Since actor Jason Ritter hails from a long line of successful entertainers, it seemed only natural that he would eventually try his hand at performing. The son of late [[Feature~V280654~Three's Company~threescompany[tvseries]]] star [[Performer~P60400~John Ritter~johnritter]] and the grandson of Hollywood Western star [[Performer~P60401~Tex Ritter~texritter]], young Jason has proven more than capable of carrying on his family's impressive showbiz legacy with roles in such features as [[Feature~V180741~Mumford~mumford]] and [[Feature~V280225~Freddy vs. Jason~freddyvsjason]]. Born in Los Angeles in February of 1980, Ritter made his screen debut opposite father [[Performer~P60400~John~johnritter]] in the 1990 made-for-television [[Performer~P81024~L. Frank Baum~lfrankbaum]] biopic [[Feature~V125180~The Dreamer of Oz~thedreamerofoz:thelfrankbaumstory]]. Though he remained relatively inactive on the screen for much of the 1990s, Ritter continued to train as an actor at both New York University and London's Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts before founding New York City's Irreputable Theater Company. Subsequent roles in the MTV series [[Feature~V180642~Undressed~undressed[tvseries]]] and the fantasy-flavored CBS drama [[Feature~V295557~Joan of Arcadia~joanofarcadia[tvseries]]] quickly elevated Ritter to teen-icon status. A segue into feature territory followed with parts in [[Feature~V280225~Freddy vs. Jason~freddyvsjason]] (2003) and [[Feature~V263573~Swimfan~swimfan]] (2002), with his continuing role on [[Feature~V295557~Joan of Arcadia~joanofarcadia[tvseries]]] serving well to balance his feature and television careers. Unfortunately, personal tragedy struck in 2003 when his father died suddenly of a previously undetected heart condition. Performances in the made-for-television Who's Your Mama? and the [[Performer~P263869~Hilary Duff~hilaryduff]] movie [[Feature~V296114~Raise Your Voice~raiseyourvoice]] were quick to follow, and Ritter could also be seen opposite such screen heavies as [[Performer~P134980~Steve Coogan~stevecoogan]], [[Performer~P2375~Tom Arnold~tomarnold]], and [[Performer~P29409~Maggie Gyllenhaal~maggiegyllenhaal]] in director [[Performer~P167026~Don Roos~donroos]]' ensemble comedy drama [[Feature~V295227~Happy Endings~happyendings]]. Meanwhile, the rising star continued to rack up impressive credits on both stage and screen, including tackling a sitcom role in the short-lived CBS series The Class (2006-07) and headlining the NBC action thriller The Event in 2010. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement