Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Jason Gedrick doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Heavenly Kid

  • One Eyed King

  • Promised Land

  • Crossing the Bridge

  • Rooftops

  • Queens Logic

  • Summer Catch

  • Iron Eagle

  • Born on the Fourth of July

  • Backdraft

1 of 10

Jason Gedrick Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Feb 7, 1965
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Though Jason Gedrick is primarily a supporting actor, his first role was relatively impressive for a newbie; in 1983, he appeared as an extra in the cast of [[Feature~V3713~Bad Boys~badboys]] with [[Performer~P106027~Sean Penn~seanpenn]], who encouraged Gedrick, then a Chicago high-school student, to further pursue acting. [[Performer~P106027~Penn~seanpenn]]'s advice paid off fairly quickly, considering that by 1985, Gedrick had landed leading roles in [[Feature~V25383~Iron Eagle~ironeagle]], [[Feature~V56185~The Zoo Gang~thezoogang]], and [[Feature~V21989~The Heavenly Kid~theheavenlykid]]. In 1988, Gedrick starred as a washed-out basketball player-turned-police officer opposite [[Performer~P62388~Meg Ryan~megryan]] and [[Performer~P69200~Kiefer Sutherland~kiefersutherland]] in [[Feature~V39493~Promised Land~promisedland]], and went on to play small roles in [[Feature~V6747~Born on the Fourth of July~bornonthefourthofjuly]] and [[Feature~V3686~Backdraft~backdraft]]. Between film roles, Gedrick kept busy with stage work, starring with [[Performer~P33968~Helen Hunt~helenhunt]] and [[Performer~P1323~Don Ameche~donameche]] in a Broadway production of Our Town, as well as an off-Broadway production of Mrs. Dally Has a Lover with [[Performer~P34708~Judith Ivey~judithivey]].

Though Gedrick was less successful on the big screen during the mid-'90s, the actor was praised for his television work. In 1996 and 1997, Gedrick starred as a murder defendant in [[Performer~P158596~Steven Bochco~stevenbochco]]'s Murder One, and later starred opposite [[Performer~P53960~Ken Olin~kenolin]] and [[Performer~P54919~Joe Pantoliano~joepantoliano]] in CBS's critically acclaimed series EZ Streets. Gedrick was also recognized for his work with [[Performer~P421~Danny Aiello~dannyaiello]] and [[Performer~P45196~Joe Mantegna~joemantegna]] in [[Feature~V158547~The Last Don~thelastdon]] and [[Feature~V162276~The Last Don II~thelastdonii]], both six-hour CBS miniseries. Gedrick enjoyed similar success for his lead role in the CBS drama Falcone, which was based on the feature film [[Feature~V154643~Donnie Brasco~donniebrasco]], and would go on to land a lead role alongside [[Performer~P294355~Billy Baldwin~billybaldwin]] and [[Performer~P54860~Chazz Palminteri~chazzpalminteri]] in [[Feature~V261805~One Eyded King~oneeyedking]] (2002). Gedrick could also be seen in NBC's [[Feature~V273922~Boomtown~boomtown[tvseries]]] (2002) and the made-for-cable drama [[Feature~V292198~A Date With Darkness: The Trial and Capture of Andrew Luster~adatewithdarkness:thetrialandcaptureofandrewluster]].

In 2006 he joined the cast of NBC's television series Windfall, which co-starred his former Boomtown alumni Lana Parilla. Though Windfall was short-lived, he would return to television for the A&E original movie Kings of South Beach (2007), in which he worked alongside Donnie Wahlberg. Gedrick appeared on seasons 3 and 4 of Desperate Housewives to play the love interest du jour, and joined the cast of HBO's drama Luck in 2012. ~ Tracie Cooper, Rovi

Advertisement