Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Blow-Up

At Home
  • Twice Born

  • Soigne Ta Droite

  • Gainsbourg: A Heroic Life

  • Around a Small Mountain

  • Same Old Song

  • Merci Docteur Rey!

  • Daddy Nostalgia

  • Romance of a Horsethief

  • Blow-Up

  • Love at the Top

1 of 10

Jane Birkin Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Dec 14, 1946
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

One of the more pleasing by-products of the "Swinging Sixties," British stage actress Jane Birkin made a huge international impression in 1966 as one of the two nude models (she was the blonde) in [[Performer~P79780~Antonioni~michelangeloantonioni]]'s existential feature film [[Feature~V60942~Blow-Up~blowup]]. Since that time, Birkin has often as not appeared in bisexual or androgynous film roles; in [[Performer~P114955~Roger Vadim~rogervadim]]'s [[Feature~V158981~Don Juan 73~donjuan73]] (1973), she was cast as [[Performer~P3899~Brigitte Bardot~brigittebardot]]'s lover. In the 1970s, she launched a second career as a popular recording artist, scoring a worldwide hit with "Je T'aime, Moi Non Plus." She created a sensation of [[Feature~V60942~Blow-Up~blowup]] dimensions in 1987 when, as star and screenwriter of director [[Performer~P115169~Agnès Varda~agnèsvarda]]'s [[Feature~V28650~Kung Fu Master~kungfumaster]], she played a 40-year-old woman carrying on a torrid affair with a 15-year-old boy. The following year, [[Performer~P115169~Varda~agnèsvarda]] expressed her admiration for Birkin with the feature-length documentary [[Feature~V119652~Jane B. par Agnes V~janebparagnesv]]. Rightly regarded by European cinephiles as one of filmdom's most versatile actresses, Birkin has had trouble shaking her earlier sex-kitten image with English-speaking audiences; only her work in 1985's [[Feature~V14985~Dust~dust]] and 1990's [[Feature~V119168~Daddy Nostalgie~daddynostalgia]] has earned the unqualified praise of American critics. Once married to composer [[Performer~P80828~John Barry~johnbarry]], Birkin then became the wife of French director [[Performer~P87961~Jacques Doillon~jacquesdoillon]]. Jane Birkin is also the mother of actress [[Performer~P25539~Charlotte Gainsbourg~charlottegainsbourg]], star of the 1996 remake of [[Feature~V135981~Jane Eyre~janeeyre]]; [[Performer~P25539~Charlotte~charlottegainsbourg]]'s father is composer/director [[Performer~P90849~Serge Gainsbourg~sergegainsbourg]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement