Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle

  • Scream

1 of 2
At Home
  • Lost and Found in Armenia

  • Bending the Rules

  • Tyler Perry's Good Deeds

  • Café

  • Finding Bliss

  • Extreme Movie

  • Heckler

  • Blonde Ambition

  • Kickin' It Old Skool

  • Farce of the Penguins

1 of 10

Jamie Kennedy Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Producer
  • Born: May 25, 1970
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

An actor whose name became synonymous with "comic relief" during the late 1990s, Jamie Kennedy made his reputation playing a series of wise-asses in such films as the [[Feature~V136657~Scream~scream]] trilogy and the independent comedy [[Feature~V154552~Clockwatchers~clockwatchers]]. Born in Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, on May 25, 1970, Kennedy showed comedic inclinations from an early age, and first became inspired to pursue an acting career when he was cast as an extra in [[Feature~V12714~Dead Poets Society~deadpoetssociety]] (1989).

After high school, Kennedy moved to L.A., where he wanted to have a career as an extra. Unfortunately, Hollywood casting agents had other ideas, and the aspiring actor found himself working odd jobs ranging from a restaurant busboy to a gum-scraper at K-Mart. During this time, he also studied at the American/British Drama Academy and began finding stand-up work at various improv clubs. It was in one of these clubs that he caught the attention of an independent filmmaker and was subsequently cast in the little-seen The Legend of Flin Flon.

The actor's bona fide entry into the film industry came with a supporting role in [[Performer~P100353~Baz Luhrmann~bazluhrmann]]'s 1996 [[Feature~V136681~William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet~williamshakespearesromeo+juliet]], in which he played a fuchsia-haired thug. That same year he had a huge breakthrough in [[Performer~P86179~Wes Craven~wescraven]]'s [[Feature~V136657~Scream~scream]], which cast him as a video store clerk with an unnerving lust for horror movies. The great success of the film opened a number of doors for Kennedy, one of which led to a memorable role as an office boy in [[Performer~P222676~Jill Sprecher~jillsprecher]]'s well-received independent comedy [[Feature~V154552~Clockwatchers~clockwatchers]] (1997), which also starred [[Performer~P39535~Lisa Kudrow~lisakudrow]], [[Performer~P187028~Parker Posey~parkerposey]], and [[Performer~P14165~Toni Collette~tonicollette]]. The actor also reprised his role for the inevitable [[Feature~V158873~Scream 2~scream2]] (1997) and [[Feature~V181888~Scream 3~scream3]] (2000) and appeared in such slacker extravaganzas as [[Feature~V162437~Bongwater~bongwater]] and [[Feature~V162519~Starf*cker~starstruck]] (both 1998).

Kennedy got a shot at more grown-up fare with a supporting role in [[Performer~P166478~David O. Russell~davidorussell]]'s acclaimed Gulf War drama [[Feature~V180980~Three Kings~threekings]] (1999), and a turn as a movie studio gofer in the satirical [[Feature~V180400~Bowfinger~bowfinger]] (1999). His growing popularity was reflected in the number of projects he was involved with in 2000; included amongst them were [[Performer~P272203~Ben Younger~benyounger]]'s [[Feature~V181533~The Boiler Room~boilerroom]], in which Kennedy played an ambitious young stock broker, and The Specials, an ensemble comedy that cast him as a member of a motley group of superheroes.

He appeared in the movies Max Keeble's Big Move} and Bug before moving to the small screen to host the series The Jamie Kennedy Experiment. He was the star of the ill-fated sequel Son of the Mask and he was one of the voiceover artists in the comedy Farce of the Penguins. His other projects include Malibu's Most Wanted, Finding Bliss, and Tyler Perry's Good Deeds. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement