Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Sixteen Candles

At Home
  • Dealin' With Idiots

  • A Better Life

  • Endless Love

  • Solarbabies

  • Keeping Up With the Steins

  • Mischief

  • Don't Tell Her It's Me

  • Crossroads

  • Lip Service

  • Sibling Rivalry

1 of 10

Jami Gertz Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Oct 28, 1965
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Brown-eyed, would-be Brat Packer Jami Gertz was discovered in a nationwide talent search by [[Performer~P99070~Norman Lear~normanlear]] and she studied drama at N.Y.U. She got a tiny part in [[Performer~P117884~Franco Zeffirelli~francozeffirelli]]'s [[Feature~V15819~Endless Love~endlesslove]] in 1981, making her film debut along with [[Performer~P86295~Tom Cruise~tomcruise]]. The next year she starred on the high school TV series [[Feature~V351769~Square Pegs~squarepegs[tvseries]]] along with [[Performer~P55134~Sarah Jessica Parker~sarahjessicaparker]], and made several guest appearances on [[Feature~V286482~The Facts of Life~thefactsoflife[tvseries]]]. Supporting roles followed in [[Feature~V1713~Alphabet City~alphabetcity]], [[Feature~V39899~Quicksilver~quicksilver]], [[Feature~V11632~Crossroads~crossroads]], and [[Feature~V45500~Solarbabies~solarbabies]]. In 1987 she played shy vampire girl Star in [[Feature~V30136~The Lost Boys~thelostboys]], which may remain her most recognizable role. In the same year, she played the girl caught between [[Performer~P46943~Andrew McCarthy~andrewmccarthy]] and [[Performer~P19966~Robert Downey Jr.~robertdowneyjr]] in [[Feature~V29012~Less Than Zero~lessthanzero]] and she got to romance teen idol [[Performer~P10420~Kirk Cameron~kirkcameron]] in [[Feature~V29471~Listen to Me~listentome]]. The '90s marked the decline of her leading roles in teen dramas and she turned to comedies, off-Broadway theater, and mainstream dramas. She played [[Performer~P1093~Kirstie Alley~kirstiealley]]'s sister in [[Feature~V44571~Sibling Rivalry~siblingrivalry]], [[Performer~P47235~Dylan McDermott~dylanmcdermott]]'s love interest in [[Feature~V121704~Jersey Girl~jerseygirl]], and [[Performer~P55571~Bill Paxton~billpaxton]]'s girlfriend in [[Feature~V135936~Twister~twister]]. Working back in television, she had recurring roles on Sibs, [[Feature~V179305~ER~er[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V309721~Dream On~dreamon[tvseries]]], and [[Feature~V182650~Ally McBeal~allymcbeal[tvseries]]]. After making several TV movies, she portrayed legendary comedienne [[Performer~P58422~Gilda Radner~gildaradner]] in the ABC special [[Feature~V269132~It's Always Something: The Gilda Radner Story~itsalwayssomething:thegildaradnerstory]]. Living in L.A. with her husband and children, Gertz was cast as blue-collar wife and mother Judy Miller on the CBS sitcom [[Feature~V273925~Still Standing~stillstanding[tvseries]]] in 2002. In 2006 Gertz co-starred in director Scott Marshall's coming-of-age comedy Keeping Up With the Steins. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement