Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Breaking Away

At Home
  • RoboCop

  • Parkland

  • Lincoln

  • Dark Shadows

  • Dollman

  • The Outside Man

  • Damnation Alley

  • A Nightmare on Elm Street

  • Shutter Island

  • Watchmen

1 of 10

Jackie Earle Haley Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Screenwriter
  • Born: Jul 14, 1961
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

The career of Jackie Earle Haley should be inspirational for any former child star or out-of-work actor. In his preteen years, Haley earned his living as a TV commercial actor and voice-over artist (he voiced the son on Hanna-Barbera's animated [[Feature~V174762~All in the Family~allinthefamily[tvseries]]] clone [[Feature~V348980~Wait Till Your Father Gets Home~waittillyourfathergetshome[animatedtvseries]]]). At 13, Haley was cast as the juvenile delinquent with home-run power in [[Performer~P108355~Michael Ritchie~michaelritchie]]'s superb little-league comedy [[Feature~V3741~The Bad News Bears~thebadnewsbears]], earning a cult following for his portrayal of the swaggering, cool loner. He repeated the iconic role in two sequels, one of the few members of the original cast to do so. [[Performer~P117576~Peter Yates~peteryates]] cast Haley, alongside future celebrities [[Performer~P58161~Dennis Quaid~dennisquaid]] and [[Performer~P112705~Daniel Stern~danielstern]], as a member of the bike-racing team in the Oscar-winning [[Feature~V7009~Breaking Away~breakingaway]] (1979). Earle disappeared from screens after some fitful television work through the '80s, but stayed busy behind the camera as a writer and an accomplished director of commercials. After more than a decade off the big screen, Haley made a spectacular return in 2006, first as the menacing bodyguard/driver Sugar Boy in [[Feature~V318750~All the King's Men~allthekingsmen]], and then with an Oscar-nominated turn as a suburban pedophile in [[Performer~P23343~Todd Field~toddfield]]'s [[Feature~V325930~Little Children~littlechildren]]. He had a small part in the 2008 Will Ferrell comedy Semi-Pro, and the next year he was cast as Rorschach, arguably the most psychotic member of The Watchmen. In 2010 he appeared in a memorable one-scene cameo in Shutter Island and took the iconic part of Freddy Kruger in the remake of A Nightmare on Elm Street. Two years later he was cast by Tim Burton in his big-screen version of Dark Shadows and by Steven Spielberg in the director's long-planned biopic Lincoln. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

Advertisement