Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Ilona Massey doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Balalaika

  • Holiday in Mexico

  • Rosalie

1 of 3

Ilona Massey Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jun 16, 1910
  • Died: Aug 20, 1974

Ilona Massey was born into poverty in Budapest; her father, a typesetter was left an invalid in WW I. With her meager earnings as a dressmaker's apprentice, Massey studied singing. She went on to perform at the Vienna Stratsoper then made her screen bow in two Austrian musical films. Conflicting reports state that either Massey wasn't interested in films until she was spotted by MGM executive [[Performer~P125693~Louis B. Mayer~louisbmayer]] while she was appearing in a Stratsoper production of Aida, or that she eagerly submitted her publicity photos to MGM in the hopes of meeting her "idol" [[Performer~P21127~Nelson Eddy~nelsoneddy]]. Another variation of the legend has her meeting a producer at a party, then being invited to audition for [[Performer~P162860~Mayer~mayer]]. Whatever the case, Massey was cast opposite [[Performer~P21127~Nelson Eddy~nelsoneddy]] and [[Performer~P57516~Eleanor Powell~eleanorpowell]] in the MGM musical [[Feature~V42112~Rosalie~rosalie]] in 1937. At first, she spoke no English and had to learn her lines phonetically. By the early 1940s, she was conversant enough in her second language to star on the network radio series Top Secret.

Massey made only 11 films during her Hollywood career; her favorite was [[Feature~V84333~Balalaika~balalaika]] (1939), while her least characteristic were [[Feature~V18486~Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman~frankensteinmeetsthewolfman]] (1943) and the Marx Brothers' [[Feature~V30294~Love Happy~lovehappy]] (1950). On Broadway, she co-starred with [[Performer~P81579~Milton Berle~miltonberle]] and [[Performer~P71674~Arthur Treacher~arthurtreacher]] in the 1943-44 revival of The Ziegfeld Follies. On TV, she starred in the 1952 adventure weekly Rendezvous and hosted the 1953 variety series [[Feature~V177435~The Ilona Massey Show~showman]]. Off camera, she was extremely active in anti-communist causes, especially after the 1956 Hungarian uprising; at one point, she picketed the United Nations, demanding the expulsion of visiting Soviet premiere Nikita Khrushchev. Among her many husbands was film actor [[Performer~P16277~Alan Curtis~alancurtis]]. Ilona Massey's last husband was retired Air Force general Donald S. Lawson, a union that entitled her to treatment at Bethesda Naval Hospital, where she died in 1974 after a three-month illness. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement

Worked With