Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • GoodFellas

At Home
  • Osso Bucco

  • Expired

  • Life Is Hot in Cracktown

  • Otis

  • Factory Girl

  • Fired!

  • Missing Brendan

  • Grief

  • Hello Again

  • New York Stories

1 of 10

Illeana Douglas Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jul 25, 1965
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Saucer-eyed actress Illeana Douglas has been regularly appearing in major films since 1987, when she debuted in the [[Performer~P43119~Shelley Long~shelleylong]] comedy [[Feature~V22105~Hello Again~helloagain]]. The granddaughter of actor [[Performer~P19878~Melvyn Douglas~melvyndouglas]] and actress-turned-Congresswoman [[Performer~P187967~Helen Gahagan~helengahagan]], Douglas was born July 25, 1965, in Massachusetts.
After her film debut, the actress worked for years in relative obscurity, at one point dubbing a chilling scream for [[Feature~V28389~The Last Temptation of Christ~thelasttemptationofchrist]]. She frequently appeared in other [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]] films, most notably [[Feature~V20351~Goodfellas~goodfellas]] (1990) and 1991's [[Feature~V8064~Cape Fear~capefear]]. Her collaboration with the director also took place offscreen, as the two dated for years.
Following roles in a number of films, including [[Feature~V131206~Household Saints~householdsaints]] (1993) and [[Feature~V133412~Quiz Show~quizshow]] (1994), Douglas was cast in [[Performer~P115102~Gus Van Sant~gusvansant]]'s 1995 [[Feature~V134789~To Die For~todiefor]]. She won some measure of recognition and critical praise for her role as [[Performer~P38065~Nicole Kidman~nicolekidman]]'s sarcastic sister-in-law, and the following year landed the lead in [[Performer~P79587~Allison Anders~allisonanders]]' [[Feature~V136158~Grace of My Heart~graceofmyheart]]. Although Douglas was again praised for her work -- here portraying a [[Performer~P38273~Carole King~caroleking]]-like singer/songwriter -- the film did poorly among critics and at the box office.
The actress went on to do a number of made-for-TV films, including the satirical [[Feature~V154942~Weapons of Mass Distraction~weaponsofmassdistraction]] in 1997. In 1999 she had a full plate, doing both television work (appearing as a prostitute on the Fox series Action) and more film work. She appeared with [[Performer~P15189~Kevin Costner~kevincostner]] in [[Feature~V176003~Message in a Bottle~messageinabottle]] before going on to make the independent film [[Feature~V176031~Happy, Texas~happytexas]], the supernatural thriller [[Feature~V180773~Stir of Echoes~stirofechoes]] with [[Performer~P3164~Kevin Bacon~kevinbacon]], and [[Feature~V175954~Can't Stop Dancing~cantstopdancing]], a comedy in which she acted alongside [[Performer~P134414~Margaret Cho~margaretcho]] and [[Performer~P196031~Janeane Garofalo~janeanegarofalo]].

She had a fine turn in the well-reviewed indie Ghost World, and a small turn in the infamous turkey The Adventures of Pluto Nash. She had major roles in Dummy and Factory Girl, and in 2007 she joined the cast of the hit ABC series Ugly Betty.

In addition to her acting career, she has directed, written, and starred in a number of shorts and web series.
~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement