Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return

At Home
  • Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return

  • Hysteria

  • Martha Marcy May Marlene

  • Our Idiot Brother

  • The Wildest Dream

  • Adam

  • Confessions of a Shopaholic

  • Savage Grace

  • The Jane Austen Book Club

  • Evening

1 of 10

Hugh Dancy Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 1975
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

The son of a publisher and a philosophy professor, handsome young British actor Hugh Dancy studied English Language and Literature at Oxford and speaks fluent French. He got his start performing in theater productions under the direction of [[Performer~P271193~Sam Mendes~sammendes]] before he made his first few television guest-star appearances on [[Feature~V286490~Dangerfield~dangerfield[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V286491~Cold Feet~coldfeet[tvseries]]], and the miniseries Trial & Retribution II. He got his first starring role in the Hallmark Hall of Fame production of [[Feature~V268407~David Copperfield~davidcopperfield]], which aired in the States on TNT, and he continued doing costume dramas adapted from literature with the BBC productions of [[Feature~V201932~Madame Bovary~madamebovary]] and [[Feature~V280498~Daniel Deronda~danielderonda]]. In 2000, he experimented with fantasy adventures, starring in the Three Musketeers-inspired Young Blades and appearing in an episode of [[Feature~V283638~Relic Hunter~relichunter[tvseries]]]. He had a small role in the war drama [[Feature~V257740~Black Hawk Down~blackhawkdown]] before making the move toward romance with the straight-to-video titles [[Feature~V278665~The Sleeping Dictionary~thesleepingdictionary]] (opposite [[Performer~P268078~Jessica Alba~jessicaalba]]) and [[Feature~V283623~Tempo~tempo]] (opposite [[Performer~P28845~Melanie Griffith~melaniegriffith]]). Dancy stuck with romance for his next feature, the fantasy comedy [[Feature~V282765~Ella Enchanted~ellaenchanted]], opposite [[Feature~V249183~Princess Diaries~theprincessdiaries]] star [[Performer~P292630~Anne Hathaway~annehathaway]]. He worked steadily in projects such as King Arthur, Basic Instinct 2, and The Jane Austen Book Club. In 2007 he began a lengthy relationship with fellow actress Claire Danes. He landed a big part in 2009's Confessions of a Shopaholic. He enjoyed a fantastic 2011 with roles in the superb comedy Our Idiot Brother, the well-reviewed indie thriller Martha Marcy May Marlene, and the period comedy Hysteria. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement