Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Donnie Darko

At Home
  • The Student Body

  • Fun Size

  • Larry Crowne

  • The Box

  • All About Steve

  • Sledge: The Untold Story

  • Southland Tales

  • Dreamer: Inspired by a True Story

  • A Lot Like Love

  • Identity

1 of 10

Holmes Osborne Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

An accomplished character actor most readily at home playing average and undistinguished domestic types (particularly fathers and husbands), Holmes Osborne appeared in scattered projects very occasionally during the 1970s and '80s, but his career only took off at the tail end of the 1990s, culminating with a small role in [[Performer~P105871~Alexander Payne~alexanderpayne]]'s critically worshipped high-school satire [[Feature~V179426~Election~election]] (1999) -- as the father of class jock Paul Metzler ([[Performer~P269268~Chris Klein~chrisklein]]) and "bad girl" Tammy Metzler ([[Performer~P269187~Jessica Campbell~jessicacampbell]]). Osborne went on to grace the casts of several key Hollywood and independent films during the next several years, including [[Feature~V237115~Donnie Darko~donniedarko]] (2001), [[Feature~V258252~Windtalkers~windtalkers]] (2002), [[Feature~V285902~Cheaper by the Dozen~cheaperbythedozen]] (2003), and [[Feature~V288094~Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy~anchorman:thelegendofronburgundy]] (2004), in addition to scattered appearances on such television programs as [[Feature~V182650~Ally McBeal~allymcbeal[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V313209~The Drew Carey Show~thedrewcareyshow[tvseries]]], and [[Feature~V335326~Invasion~invasion[tvseries]]]. In 2006, Osborne re-teamed with [[Feature~V237115~Darko~donniedarko]] director [[Performer~P299369~Richard Kelly~richardkelly]] for the filmmaker's epic-sized dystopian black comedy [[Feature~V325848~Southland Tales~southlandtales]]. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement