Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • American Psycho

At Home
  • Breaking the Girls

  • Tales From the Script

  • Itty Bitty Titty Committee

  • Dante's View

  • The Notorious Bettie Page

  • BloodRayne

  • Preaching to the Perverted

  • Pipe Dream

  • Go Fish

  • Dogma

1 of 10

Guinevere Turner Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Screenwriter, Director
  • Born: May 23, 1968
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Recognized as one of the more important players in the 1990s independent film scene, Guinevere Turner began her career as the star, co-writer, and co-producer of [[Performer~P166476~Rose Troche~rosetroche]]'s groundbreaking lesbian ensemble film [[Feature~V131225~Go Fish~gofish]] (1994). A native of Boston, where she was born May 23, 1968, Turner gained a substantial dose of art house recognition for her work on [[Feature~V131225~Go Fish~gofish]], which ultimately became touted as one of the seminal gay and lesbian films of the '90s, as well as one of the most important independent films of that decade. Following [[Feature~V131225~Go Fish~gofish]], Turner starred in another noteworthy independent, [[Performer~P204400~Cheryl Dunye~cheryldunye]]'s [[Feature~V136227~The Watermelon Woman~thewatermelonwoman]] (1996). Although the film received only lukewarm reviews, it became caught up in controversy when actor [[Performer~P3515~Alec Baldwin~alecbaldwin]] cited it in his much publicized defense of NEA funding. Turner subsequently appeared in a number of diverse films, including the S&M comedy [[Feature~V262449~Preaching to the Perverted~preachingtotheperverted]] (1997) and [[Performer~P111916~Kevin Smith~kevinsmith]]'s [[Feature~V180080~Dogma~dogma]] (1999). In 2000, she again made headlines as the co-writer of [[Performer~P201982~Mary Harron~maryharron]]'s controversial adaptation of Brett Easton Ellis' [[Feature~V184482~American Psycho~americanpsycho]]; Turner also had a supporting role in the film. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement