Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Little White Lies

At Home
  • Blood Ties

  • The War of the Buttons

  • Little White Lies

  • Last Night

  • Hunting and Gathering

  • Le Frere du Guerrier

  • Tell No One

  • Dark Portals: The Chronicles of Vidocq

  • Merry Christmas

  • Love Bites

1 of 10

Guillaume Canet Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Apr 10, 1973
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A rising star and bonafide heartthrob in his native France, Guillaume Canet became known to international audiences as one of the stars of [[Performer~P188724~Danny Boyle~dannyboyle]]'s [[Feature~V181889~The Beach~thebeach]]. As the affable, levelheaded Etienne, Canet held his own against co-stars [[Performer~P18926~Leonardo DiCaprio~leonardodicaprio]] and [[Performer~P196708~Virginie Ledoyen~virginieledoyen]], and in the process he established himself as the European Union's latest poster boy for sensitive, trod-upon hunks everywhere.

Born in Boulougne-Billancourt on April 10, 1973, Canet began his professional career on the stage. He got his breakthrough starring with [[Performer~P44083~Christophe Malavoy~christophemalavoy]] in [[Performer~P233360~Pierre Boutron~pierreboutron]]'s production of La Ville dont Le Prince est un Enfant, and he subsequently acted in and directed a number of stage productions. After starring in various television features, Canet made his film debut in 1997's [[Feature~V159958~Barracuda~barracuda]], a [[Feature~V32861~Misery~misery]]-esque psychological thriller in which the young actor played a comic book artist held hostage in the home of a mad man ([[Performer~P60901~Jean Rochefort~jeanrochefort]]).

In 1998, Canet won critical adulation for his starring role opposite [[Performer~P196708~Virginie Ledoyen~virginieledoyen]] in [[Performer~P96267~Pierre Jolivet~pierrejolivet]]'s [[Feature~V174164~Un Plein Coeur~enpleincoeur]]. Cast as Ledoyen's hopelessly devoted boyfriend (a role that he would essentially repeat in [[Feature~V181889~The Beach~thebeach]]), the actor earned a César nomination for Most Promising Young Actor for his portrayal. He went on to play a son looking for guidance from his errant father [[Performer~P117550~Jean Yanne~jeanyanne]] in [[Performer~P206355~Remi Waterhouse~remiwaterhouse]]'s [[Feature~V179497~Je règle mon pas sur le pas de mon père~jerèglemonpassurlepasdemonpère]] (1999), and in 2000, he starred in the highly anticipated but ultimately disappointing [[Feature~V181889~The Beach~thebeach]]. That same year, Canet appeared in [[Performer~P118062~Andrzej Zulawski~andrzejzulawski]]'s [[Feature~V184436~La Fidélité~lafidélité]], a romantic drama that cast the up-and-coming actor alongside the likes of [[Performer~P45296~Sophie Marceau~sophiemarceau]], [[Performer~P28649~Pascal Greggory~pascalgreggory]], and [[Performer~P63996~Edith Scob~edithscob]]. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement