Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Goran Visnjic doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Counselor

  • K-11

  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

  • Beginners

  • Elektra

  • Close Your Eyes

  • Welcome to Sarajevo

  • Ice Age

  • The Deep End

  • Practical Magic

1 of 10

Goran Visnjic Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Sep 9, 1972
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Perhaps Croatia's most recognizable actor, Goran Visnjic became known to an American audience in the late 1990s, thanks to his work in American films and television. The darkly handsome actor, whom Vogue dubbed "the [[Performer~P86295~Tom Cruise~tomcruise]] of Croatia," was born in Sibenik on September 9, 1972, to a bus driver and a food market worker.

Like just about all of his compatriots, Visnjic was indelibly affected by the Bosnian War. Although he decided at an early age that he wanted to be an actor and trained at the Academy of Dramatic Arts in Zagreb, his country's terrible conflict resulted in Visnjic's joining the Croatian army when he was 18. He trained as a paratrooper, ultimately extending his service by three months in order to better defend his country.

After Visnjic finished his time with the military, he returned to acting. He began gaining popularity in his country when, at the age of 21, he was cast as Hamlet in a production of the play at the prestigious Dubrovnik Summer Festival. The production earned wide acclaim, and Visnjic himself was the recipient of three national Best Actor awards, including an Orlando, the Croatian equivalent of a Tony.

In addition to his work on the stage (he went on to portray Hamlet six years in a row), Visnjic also began appearing in Croatian feature films, and he made his American screen debut in [[Performer~P194595~Michael Winterbottom~michaelwinterbottom]]'s [[Feature~V154958~Welcome to Sarajevo~welcometosarajevo]] (1997). In 1998, he earned greater international recognition with his role in [[Feature~V173557~Practical Magic~practicalmagic]]; although the film itself was a disappointment, Visnjic managed to make a sizable impression on audience members in his role as [[Performer~P38065~Nicole Kidman~nicolekidman]]'s ne'er-do-well boyfriend. The following year, the actor landed a recurring role on the popular TV medical drama [[Feature~V179305~E.R.~er[tvseries]]]; his profile further ascended with his casting in a number of feature films, including [[Feature~V184528~Committed~committed]] (2000), a road trip comedy starring [[Performer~P28094~Heather Graham~heathergraham]] and [[Performer~P200995~Luke Wilson~lukewilson]]. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement