Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Gremlins

At Home
  • John Dies at the End

  • The Obama Effect

  • Super 8

  • Thomasine and Bushrod

  • Burlesque

  • Takers

  • Kings of the Evening

  • Sahara

  • The Serpent's Egg

  • The Inkwell

1 of 10

Glynn Turman Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Director
  • Born: Jan 31, 1947
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

African American character actor Glynn R. Turman was first introduced to the general public as Lew Miles, teen-aged son of Dr. Harry Miles ([[Performer~P61030~Percy Rodrigues~percyrodrigues]]) and his wife, Alma ([[Performer~P18243~Ruby Dee~rubydee]]), during the 1968-1969 season of the prime-time TV soap opera [[Feature~V284280~Peyton Place~peytonplace[tvseries]]]. Turman went on to star as Chicago high schooler Leroy "Preach" Jackson in the 1975 film sleeper [[Feature~V10968~Cooley High~cooleyhigh]]. Settling into character roles in the 1980s, Turman was most often seen as judges, military officers, police detectives, and well-to-do patriarches. A departure from these "establishment" assignments was Turman's star turn in the 1981 TV-movie [[Feature~V129491~Thornwell~thornwell]], in which he portrayed real-life soldier James Thornwell, who accused the U.S. Army of subjecting him to illegal mind-controlling drugs. Turman's weekly series roles have included Secretary of State LaRue Hawkes in 1985's Hail to the Chief, and Colonel Bradford Taylor (aka "Dr. War") in the popular [[Feature~V280673~Cosby Show~thecosbyshow[tvseries]]] spin-off [[Feature~V325920~A Different World~adifferentworld[tvseries]]] (1988-1993); he also appeared in the 1983 pilot episode of [[Feature~V152401~Manimal~manimal]] as Ty Earl, a role essayed by [[Performer~P60649~Michael D. Roberts~michaeldroberts]] in the series proper. In the 2000s, Turman played the memorable role of fictional Baltimore mayor Clarence V. Royce on the critically acclaimed HBO series [[Feature~V270832~The Wire~thewire[tvseries]]]. Also on HBO, he appeared in a few episodes of the psychotherapy drama [[Feature~V428787~In Treatment~intreatment[tvseries]]], winning an Emmy for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series for his role as the tough, strict father of [[Performer~P72431~Blair Underwood~blairunderwood]]'s troubled fighter pilot. In the years to come, Turman would remain active on screen, appearing on shows like The Defenders and House of Lies. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement