Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Antz

  • Unforgiven

  • The French Connection

1 of 3
At Home
  • March or Die

  • Zandy's Bride

  • A Covenant with Death

  • Mad Dog Coll

  • Lucky Lady

  • I Never Sang for My Father

  • First to Fight

  • Downhill Racer

  • Reds

  • Cisco Pike

1 of 10

Gene Hackman Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 30, 1930
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Eugene Alden Hackman

A remarkably prolific and versatile talent, Gene Hackman was a successful character actor whose uncommon abilities and smart career choices ultimately made him a most unlikely leading man. In the tradition of [[Performer~P71578~Spencer Tracy~spencertracy]], he excelled as an Everyman, consistently delivering intelligent, natural performances which established him among the most respected and well-liked stars of his era. Born January 30th, 1930 in San Bernardino, CA, Hackman joined the Marines at the age of 16 and later served in Korea. After studying journalism at the University of Illinois, he pursued a career in television production but later decided to try his hand at acting, attending a Pasadena drama school with fellow student [[Performer~P94585~Dustin Hoffman~dustinhoffman]]; ironically, they were both voted "least likely to succeed." After briefly appearing in the 1961 film [[Feature~V100793~Mad Dog Coll~maddogcoll]], Hackman made his debut off-Broadway in 1963's Children at Their Games, earning a Clarence Derwent Award for his supporting performance. Poor Richard followed, before he starred in 1964's production of Any Wednesday.

Returning to films in 1964, Hackman earned strong notices for his work in [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]]'s [[Feature~V29376~Lilith~lilith]] and 1966's [[Feature~V21708~Hawaii~hawaii]], but the 1967 World War II tale [[Feature~V91553~First to Flight~firsttofight]] proved disastrous for all involved. At Beatty's request, Hackman co-starred in [[Feature~V6614~Bonnie and Clyde~bonnieandclyde]], winning a Best Supporting Actor Oscar nomination and establishing himself as a leading character player. After making a pair of films with [[Performer~P83235~Jim Brown~jimbrown]], (1968's The Split and 1969's [[Feature~V41483~Riot~riot]]), Hackman supported [[Performer~P107758~Robert Redford~robertredford]] in [[Feature~V14515~The Downhill Racer~downhillracer]], [[Performer~P98588~Burt Lancaster~burtlancaster]] in [[Feature~V94128~The Gypsy Moths~thegypsymoths]], and [[Performer~P55747~Gregory Peck~gregorypeck]] in [[Feature~V31536~Marooned~marooned]]. For 1970's [[Feature~V24121~I Never Sang for My Father~ineversangformyfather]], he garnered another Academy Award nomination. The following year Hackman became a star; as New York narcotics agent Popeye Doyle, a character rejected by at least seven other actors, he headlined [[Performer~P90583~William Friedkin~williamfriedkin]]'s thriller [[Feature~V18617~The French Connection~thefrenchconnection]], winning a Best Actor Oscar and spurring the film to Best Picture honors. Upon successfully making the leap from supporting player to lead, he next appeared in the disaster epic [[Feature~V38807~The Poseidon Adventure~theposeidonadventure]], one of the biggest money-makers of 1972.

After co-starring with [[Performer~P54596~Al Pacino~alpacino]] in 1973's [[Feature~V43071~Scarecrow~scarecrow]], Hackman delivered his strongest performance to date as a haunted surveillance expert in [[Performer~P85868~Francis Ford Coppola~francisfordcoppola]]'s 1974 classic [[Feature~V10898~The Conversation~theconversation]] and went on to tap his under-utilized comedic skills in [[Performer~P83158~Mel Brooks~melbrooks]]' [[Feature~V55978~Young Frankenstein~youngfrankenstein]]. [[Performer~P106024~Arthur Penn~arthurpenn]]'s grim 1975 thriller [[Feature~V35229~Night Moves~nightmoves]] and the Western [[Feature~V5767~Bite the Bullet~bitethebullet]] followed before the actor agreed to The French Connection 2. While remaining the subject of great critical acclaim, Hackman's box-office prowess was beginning to slip: 1975's [[Feature~V100647~Lucky Lady~luckylady]], 1977's The Domino, and [[Feature~V31397~March or Die~marchordie]] were all costly flops, and although 1978's Superman -- in which he appeared as the villainous Lex Luthor -- was a smash, his career continued to suffer greatly. Apart from the inevitable Superman 2, Hackman was absent from the screen for several years, and with the exception of a fleeting appearance in Beatty's 1981 epic [[Feature~V40771~Reds~reds]], most of his early-'80s work -- specifically, the features [[Feature~V1573~All Night Long~allnightlong]] and [[Feature~V16127~Eureka~eureka]] -- passed through theaters virtually unnoticed.

Finally, a thankless role as an ill-fated war correspondent in Roger Spottiswoode's acclaimed 1983 drama [[Feature~V51711~Under Fire~underfire]] brought Hackman's career back to life. The follow-up, the action film [[Feature~V51698~Uncommon Valor~uncommonvalor]], was also a hit, and while 1984's [[Feature~V32957~Misunderstood~misunderstood]] stalled, the next year's [[Feature~V51309~Twice in a Lifetime~twiceinalifetime]] was a critical success. By the middle of the decade, Hackman was again as prolific as ever, headlining a pair of 1986 pictures -- the little-seen [[Feature~V38885~Power~power]] and the sleeper hit [[Feature~V23084~Hoosiers~hoosiers]] -- before returning to the Man of Steel franchise for 1987's Superman 4: The Quest for Peace. [[Feature~V35559~No Way Out~nowayout]], in which he co-starred with [[Performer~P15189~Kevin Costner~kevincostner]], was also a hit. In 1988, Hackman starred in no less than five major releases: [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]'s [[Feature~V2586~Another Woman~anotherwoman]], the war drama [[Feature~V4268~Bat 21~bat21]], the comedy [[Feature~V18880~Full Moon in Blue Water~fullmooninbluewater]], the sports tale [[Feature~V46152~Split Decisions~splitdecisions]], and [[Performer~P105602~Alan Parker~alanparker]]'s [[Feature~V32924~Mississippi Burning~mississippiburning]]. The last of these, a Civil Rights drama set in 1964, cast him as an FBI agent investigating the disappearance of a group of political activists. Though the film itself was the subject of considerable controversy, Hackman won another Oscar nomination.
During the 1990s, Hackman settled comfortably into a rhythm alternating between lead roles (1990's [[Feature~V34465~Narrow Margin~narrowmargin]], 1991's [[Feature~V9818~Class Action~classaction]]) and high-profile supporting performances (1990's [[Feature~V38839~Postcards From the Edge~postcardsfromtheedge]], 1993's The Firm). In 1992, he joined director and star [[Performer~P88601~Clint Eastwood~clinteastwood]] in the cast of the revisionist Western [[Feature~V51847~Unforgiven~unforgiven]], appearing as a small-town sheriff corrupted by his own desires for justice. The role won Hackman a Best Supporting Actor Academy Award. The performance helped land him in another pair of idiosyncratic Western tales, [[Feature~V131244~Wyatt Earp~wyattearp]] and [[Feature~V132303~The Quick and the Dead~thequickandthedead]]. In 1995, he also co-starred in two of the year's biggest hits, the submarine adventure [[Feature~V134690~Crimson Tide~crimsontide]] and the Hollywood satire [[Feature~V135656~Get Shorty~getshorty]]. Three more big-budget productions, [[Feature~V136091~The Birdcage~thebirdcage]], [[Feature~V136812~The Chamber~thechamber]], and [[Feature~V154487~Extreme Measures~extrememeasures]], followed in 1996, and a year later Hackman portrayed the President of the United States in Eastwood's [[Feature~V154603~Absolute Power~absolutepower]]. In 1998, Hackman lent his talents to three very different films, the conspiracy thriller [[Feature~V174123~Enemy of the State~enemyofthestate]], the animated [[Feature~V173454~Antz~antz]], and [[Feature~V160611~Twilight~twilight]], a noirish mystery co-starring [[Performer~P104390~Paul Newman~paulnewman]] and [[Performer~P63158~Susan Sarandon~susansarandon]]. Moving into the new millennium with his stature as a solid performer and well-respected veteran well in place, Hackman turned up in The Replacements in 2000, and Heist the following year. 2001 also found Hackman in top form with his role as the dysfunctional patriarch in director Wes Anderson's follow-up to Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums. Hackman's lively performance brought the actor his third Golden Globe, this time for Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy. ~ Jason Ankeny, Rovi

Advertisement