Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Gary Lucchesi doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Walk of Shame

  • I, Frankenstein

  • Gone

  • One for the Money

  • Underworld: Awakening

  • The Lincoln Lawyer

  • Gamer

  • Fame

  • The Ugly Truth

  • Crank High Voltage

1 of 10

Gary Lucchesi Biography

  • Profession: Producer, Executive Producer
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Over the course of the '80s and '90s, and into the first decade of the millennium, omnipotent Hollywood producer Gary Lucchesi quickly built a name and established a track record for himself as one of Tinseltown's most prolific and eminently successful green-lighters. Lucchesi began where so many Hollywood execs do, as an agent at William Morris in Los Angeles, where he repped multimillion-dollar A-listers in the mid-'80s, such as [[Performer~P63158~Susan Sarandon~susansarandon]], [[Performer~P15189~Kevin Costner~kevincostner]], [[Performer~P56469~Michelle Pfeiffer~michellepfeiffer]], and [[Performer~P44846~John Malkovich~johnmalkovich]]. Lucchesi later accepted a position at TriStar, several years after its 1982 establishment, where he worked as VP and Senior VP of Production, and quickly moved to the hallowed halls of Paramount, where he became President of Production -- a title he inherited from [[Performer~P89202~Robert Evans~robertevans]] and [[Performer~P450566~Barry Diller~barrydiller]]. While there, he supervised the output of blockbusters that totaled two billion dollars in revenue, including [[Feature~V16881~Fatal Attraction~fatalattraction]] (1987), [[Feature~V51947~The Untouchables~theuntouchables]] (1987), [[Feature~V10523~Coming to America~comingtoamerica]] (1988), [[Feature~V64938~The Naked Gun~thenakedgun]] (1988), [[Feature~V24754~Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade~indianajonesandthelastcrusade]] (1989), and [[Feature~V19626~Ghost~ghost]] (1990).

Lucchesi's success at Paramount helped him found Gary Lucchesi Productions, Inc. in the early '90s, where his output straddled the line between megaplexes and pay cable; his big-screen ventures under this banner included [[Feature~V26028~Jennifer Eight~jennifereight]] (1992), [[Feature~V134885~Virtuosity~virtuosity]] (1995), and [[Feature~V136007~Primal Fear~primalfear]] (1996, for which supporting actor [[Performer~P215904~Edward Norton~edwardnorton]] received an Academy Award nomination). Lucchesi also oversaw the production of the seriocomic [[Feature~V160099~Breast Men~breastmen]] (1997) and [[Feature~V180220~Vendetta~vendetta]] (1999) for HBO and [[Feature~V249979~Wild Iris~wildiris]] (2001) for Showtime.

Lucchesi subsequently became prexy of Lakeshore Entertainment, where he has executive produced such multimillion-dollar blockbusters as [[Feature~V284680~Underworld~underworld]] (2003), [[Feature~V316830~The Exorcism of Emily Rose~theexorcismofemilyrose]] (2005), and [[Feature~V316831~Underworld: Evolution~underworld:evolution]] (2006). Most noteworthy during this period was Lucchesi's role in executive producing the [[Performer~P88601~Clint Eastwood~clinteastwood]] project [[Feature~V305809~Million Dollar Baby~milliondollarbaby]] for Warners and Malpaso -- a motion picture that not only became the sleeper hit of the year (and spun box-office gold) but netted the 2004 Best Picture Oscar. Following [[Feature~V316830~Emily Rose~theexorcismofemilyrose]], Lucchesi oversaw [[Feature~V335516~Crank~crank]], a high-testosterone action thriller in the vein of [[Performer~P101673~Rudolph Maté~rudolphmaté]]'s [[Feature~V11915~D.O.A.~doa]] The picture stars [[Performer~P242471~Jason Statham~jasonstatham]] as a hitman who is lethally poisoned and carries out a violent rampage through the urban jungle of Los Angeles before his time runs out.


In 2006, Lucchesi signed on to produce two films that would be directed by [[Performer~P212225~Robert Benton~robertbenton]], with whom Lucchesi previously worked, on [[Feature~V284682~The Human Stain~thehumanstain]] [2003]: [[Feature~V356384~The Feast of Love~feastoflove]], an adaptation of a 2000 [[Performer~P481547~Charles Baxter~charlesbaxter]] novel about an Oregon romance, and Appointment in Samarra, an adaptation of [[Performer~P218146~John O'Hara~johnohara]]'s novel, with a script by [[Performer~P212225~Benton~robertbenton]], about a couple in Gibbsville, PA, that slips from most-envied to town embarrassment when the husband spirals into self-destruction. He also produced the Zach Braff dramedy The Last Kiss, a film about the search for meaning in life, costarring Blythe Danner, Tom Wilkinson, and Casey Affleck. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement