Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Fred Durst doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Pawn Shop Chronicles

  • The Education of Charlie Banks

  • The Longshots

  • Sorry, Haters

1 of 4

Fred Durst Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Director
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A musician turned actor/director primarily associated with his tenure as the frontman and co-founder of the popular rap-metal act [[Performer~P301552~Limp Bizkit~limpbizkit]], Fred Durst began his occupational life as a tattoo artist after his honorable discharge from the Navy. He formed [[Performer~P301552~Bizkit~limpbizkit]] in Florida circa 1994 at the age of 23 by teaming up with percussionist John Otto, guitarist [[Performer~P453146~Wes Borland~wesborland]], and bassist Sam Rivers. Another act, [[Performer~P290449~Korn~korn]], soon got its hands on the group's demo tape and felt so impressed that it passed it along to producer Ross Robinson. That coup helped [[Performer~P301552~Limp Bizkit~limpbizkit]] land a spot opening for The Deftones and [[Performer~P448077~House of Pain~houseofpain]]; a contract with Flip/Interscope Records and numerous albums followed, catapulting the outfit to the forefront of the rap metal genre.
Unsurprisingly, Durst's early film-oriented work consisted primarily of music videos for [[Performer~P301552~Bizkit~limpbizkit]], but by the mid-2000s, he began to branch out into non-musical acting roles, where the rough-cut, tattoo-laden rapper made a unique and memorable impression among audiences. Assignments included a small supporting role in the psychologically charged social issues drama [[Feature~V333776~Sorry, Haters~sorryhaters]] (2005) and a lead opposite [[Performer~P66028~Jeremy Sisto~jeremysisto]] in the small town-set supernatural thriller [[Feature~V347300~Population 436~population436]] (2006). Durst then stepped behind the camera with a pair of directorial efforts: the psychodrama [[Feature~V348002~The Education of Charlie Banks~theeducationofcharliebanks]] (2007) weaves the tale of a disturbed young man ([[Performer~P60399~Jason Ritter~jasonritter]]) who aggressively insinuates himself into the life of a college student ([[Performer~P311020~Jesse Eisenberg~jesseeisenberg]]) in whom he provoked fear and terror during childhood. The much different picture [[Feature~V414347~The Longshots~thelongshots]], on the other hand, is a sports comedy about an ex-football player ([[Performer~P34311~Ice Cube~icecube]]) who trains his sports-happy 11-year-old niece to qualify as the first female quarterback in her children's football league. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement