Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Frances O'Connor doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Truth About Emanuel

  • Best Man Down

  • Jayne Mansfield's Car

  • Little Red Wagon

  • The Hunter

  • The Wind That Shakes the Barley

  • Book of Love

  • Timeline

  • Bedazzled

  • The Importance of Being Earnest

1 of 10

Frances O'Connor Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jun 12, 1967
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

From bringing the characters of [[Performer~P218880~Oscar Wilde~oscarwilde]] ([[Feature~V261812~The Importance of Being Earnest~theimportanceofbeingearnest]]), [[Performer~P315531~Jane Austen~janeausten]] ([[Feature~V179531~Mansfield Park~mansfieldpark]]), and [[Performer~P309470~Gustave Flaubert~gustaveflaubert]] ([[Feature~V201932~Madame Bovary~madamebovary]]) to life on the big screen to escaping into the outback with a wanted man ([[Feature~V156921~Kiss or Kill~kissorkill]]), nurturing an android ([[Feature~V246161~A.I.~ai:artificialintelligence]]), and even inspiring a man to sell his soul to the Devil ([[Feature~V196446~Bedazzled~bedazzled]]), there's little that Golden Globe-nominated actress Frances O'Connor hasn't accomplished -- both literary and otherwise -- since emerging onscreen in the mid-'90s.

As a young girl, O'Connor always knew that she wanted to become an actor, and after making her screen debut on the Australian television series Law of the Land, she was well on her way to achieving her dream. Later, after making a name for herself on Australian television, O'Connor achieved her breakthrough role -- as a desperate fugitive in the stylish 1997 crime thriller [[Feature~V156921~Kiss or Kill~kissorkill]]. Not only did that film earn O'Connor the first of two Best Actress nominations at the 1997 Australian Film Institute awards (the other being for her performance in the romantic comedy [[Feature~V156907~Thank God He Met Lizzie~theweddingparty]]), but it also brought her the international attention that eventually led to roles in such lavish period pieces as [[Feature~V179531~Mansfield Park~mansfieldpark]] and [[Feature~V201932~Madame Bovary~madamebovary]] (the later of which earned O'Connor a Golden Globe nomination). In 2000, O'Connor crossed the Atlantic to appear as the waitress who prompts a hapless line cook to sell his soul to the Devil in [[Performer~P107494~Harold Ramis~haroldramis]]' [[Feature~V196446~Bedazzled~bedazzled]], and the following year she remained stateside to film [[Performer~P112325~Steven Spielberg~stevenspielberg]]'s [[Feature~V246161~A.I.~ai:artificialintelligence]] -- in which she played a grieving mother who turns to technology after her son is stricken with an incurable disease.

By this point in O'Connor's career, audiences across the globe were beginning to catch on to the rising star's talent. She returned to the classics with [[Feature~V261812~The Importance of Being Earnest~theimportanceofbeingearnest]], followed by a pair of misfires ([[Feature~V258252~Windtalkers~windtalkers]] and [[Feature~V278220~Timeline~timeline]]); nonetheless, prominent roles in [[Feature~V299524~Piccadilly Jim~piccadillyjim]], [[Feature~V300964~Iron Jawed Angels~ironjawedangels]], [[Feature~V301127~Book of Love~bookoflove]], and [[Feature~V293400~The Lazarus Child~thelazaruschild]] followed in short order. In 2007, O'Connor could be seen opposite [[Performer~P267831~Lucy Liu~lucyliu]] in the sexy ABC comedy [[Feature~V401243~Cashmere Mafia~cashmeremafia[tvseries]]], which was executive produced by [[Feature~V250366~Sex and the City~sexandthecity[tvseries]]] writer/executive producer/director [[Performer~P112511~Darren Star~darrenstar]]. That show ended quickly, but O'Connor went on to appear in Blessed, Darwin's Darkest Hour, and The Hunter. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement