Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Eve Newman doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Bloody Mama

  • The Other Side of the Mountain 2

  • The Other Side of the Mountain

  • Sergeant Deadhead

  • Little Cigars

  • Paradise Alley

  • Little Miss Marker

  • No Small Affair

  • Beach Blanket Bingo

  • Dr. Goldfoot and the Bikini Machine

1 of 10

Eve Newman Biography

  • Profession: Editor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Oct 10, 2003

A sound/music editor and film cutter whose work on such fright flicks as [[Performer~P85920~Roger Corman~rogercorman]]'s [[Feature~V16639~House of Usher~thefallofthehouseofusher]] and the American version of [[Performer~P81044~Mario Bava~mariobava]]'s [[Feature~V5932~Black Sabbath~blacksabbath]] had audiences trembling in their seats, Eve Newman also frequently worked on Westerns and such comedies as the [[Performer~P116768~Billy Wilder~billywilder]] classic Some Like It Hot. As work in the sound department segued into actual film editing, the experienced Newman frequently put razor to celluloid for numerous [[Performer~P85920~Corman~rogercorman]] films in addition to cutting the [[Performer~P2922~Frankie Avalon~frankieavalon]] and [[Performer~P25351~Annette Funicello~annettefunicello]] classic [[Feature~V4413~Beach Blanket Bingo~beachblanketbingo]]. A native of Southern California whose early work as a Disney animator paved her road into show business, it didn't take long for Newman to go from work on [[Feature~V45383~Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs~snowwhiteandthesevendwarfs]] to cutting sound on some of the most popular efforts of the 1950s. That decade, in particular, proved unquestionably fruitful for the burgeoning sound department member, and with her work on [[Feature~V25288~Invasion of the Body Snatchers~invasionofthebodysnatchers]] and Some Like It Hot, few could argue that she was at the top of her game. It was soon after working as a music editor on [[Performer~P114444~Jacques Tourneur~jacquestourneur]]'s [[Feature~V10487~The Comedy of Terrors~thecomedyofterrors]] that Newman moved into feature editing, and her unique editing style, as evidenced on numerous American International Pictures beach party films, would ultimately find her pioneering a new style that would inspire generations of future editors. Newman gained some much-deserved recognition when she garnered Oscar nominations for [[Feature~V54606~Wild in the Streets~wildinthestreets]] and [[Feature~V51401~Two Minute Warning~twominutewarning]], and by the time her career came to a close with work on 1987's [[Feature~V25148~Into the Homeland~intothehomeland]], few could dispute the influence of her impressive body of work on the world of film editing. On October 10, 2003, Eve Newman died of complications from lung cancer in Burbank, CA. She was 88. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement