Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Ethan Embry doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Echoes of War

  • Cheap Thrills

  • The Reunion

  • Eagle Eye

  • Manfast

  • Player 5150

  • Vacancy

  • Standing Still

  • Pizza

  • Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle

1 of 10

Ethan Embry Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jun 13, 1978
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Born June 13, 1978, Ethan Embry grew up to be one of the few child stars to make a reasonably successful transition to adult (or at least young adult) roles. Beginning with his starring role in the ill-fated [[Performer~P95115~John Hughes~johnhughes]] vehicle [[Feature~V14991~Dutch~dutch]] (1991), in which he co-starred with Ed O'Neill, Embry went on to find steady work throughout the 1990s, maturing from child actor to drool material for teenage girls everywhere.

Following [[Feature~V14991~Dutch~dutch]] (in which he was credited as Ethan Randall), Embry had a minor role in the [[Performer~P83146~Albert Brooks~albertbrooks]] comedy [[Feature~V13087~Defending Your Life~defendingyourlife]] (1991), and then in the same year starred in [[Feature~V1563~All I Want For Christmas~alliwantforchristmas]] with Leslie Neilsen. His next substantial role was in the 1993 teen adventure film [[Feature~V16790~A Far-Off Place~afaroffplace]], in which he starred with [[Performer~P77086~Reese Witherspoon~reesewitherspoon]]. The film met with lukewarm response, which was best summed up by Empire Magazine with the statement "Potential date-movie for environmentally aware thirteen year-olds." Embry's subsequent film, [[Feature~V135828~Empire Records~empirerecords]] (1995), met with a similarly negative reception, although it did attain a certain cult status among hormonally-aware teenage girls.

After Empire, Embry was involved in two high profile projects, [[Performer~P93341~Tom Hanks~tomhanks]]' [[Feature~V136774~That Thing You Do~thatthingyoudo]] and [[Performer~P110579~Ridley Scott~ridleyscott]]'s [[Feature~V135527~White Squall~whitesquall]] (both 1996). Neither film did particularly well, although the latter allowed Embry to appear with a virtual Who's Who line-up of up-and-coming male actors including [[Performer~P200610~Ryan Phillippe~ryanphillippe]] and [[Performer~P228380~Scott Wolf~scottwolf]]. Next up was [[Feature~V154636~Vegas Vacation~vegasvacation]] (1997), the latest in the National Lampoon odessey, followed by [[Feature~V160473~Montana~montana]] (1998) and two teen invasion showcases, [[Feature~V162690~Can't Hardly Wait~canthardlywait]], with [[Performer~P215497~Jennifer Love Hewitt~jenniferlovehewitt]] and [[Feature~V163040~Disturbing Behavior~disturbingbehavior]] (both 1998).
~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement