Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Man Who Came to Dinner

  • It Happened One Night

  • Johnny Angel

1 of 3
At Home
  • The Tower of London

  • We're Not Dressing

  • Million Dollar Legs

  • Ruggles of Red Gap

  • The Blue Dahlia

  • Yankee Fakir

  • The Fighting Frontiersman

  • My Gal Sal

  • Escape in the Fog

  • Do You Love Me?

1 of 10

Ernie S. Adams Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jun 18, 1885
  • Died: Nov 26, 1947

Scratch a sniveling prison "stoolie" or cowardly henchman and if he were not [[Performer~P29179~Paul Guilfoyle~paulguilfoyle]] or [[Performer~P12233~George Chandler~georgechandler]], he would be the diminutive Ernie S. Adams, a ubiquitous presence in scores of Hollywood films of the 1930s and '40s. Surprisingly, the weasel-looking Adams had begun his professional career in musical comedy -- appearing on Broadway in such shows as [[Performer~P97239~Jerome Kern~jeromekern]]'s Toot Toot (1918) -- prior to entering films around 1919. A list of typical Adams characters basically tells the story: "The Rat" ([[Feature~V97160~Jewels of Desire~jewelsofdesire]], 1927), "Johnny Behind the 8-Ball" ([[Feature~V111830~The Storm~thestorm]], 1930), "Lefty" ([[Feature~V132631~Trail's End~trailsend]], 1935), "Jimmy the Weasel" ([[Feature~V111653~Stars Over Arizona~starsoverarizona]], 1937), "Snicker Joe" ([[Feature~V116260~West of Carson City~westofcarsoncity]], 1940), "Willie the Weasel" ([[Feature~V41081~Return of the Ape Man~returnoftheapeman]], 1944) and, of course "Fink" ([[Feature~V108805~San Quentin~sanquentin]], 1937). The result, needless to say, is that you didn't quite trust him even when playing a decent guy, as in the 1943 Columbia serial [[Feature~V37913~The Phantom~thephantom[serial]]]. One of the busiest players in the '40s, the sad-faced, little actor worked right up until his death in 1947. His final four films were released posthumously. ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi

Advertisement