Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Into the Woods

  • Live Die Repeat: Edge of Tomorrow

  • Charlie Wilson's War

  • The Jane Austen Book Club

1 of 4
At Home
  • The Wind Rises

  • Live Die Repeat: Edge of Tomorrow

  • Arthur Newman

  • Looper

  • Your Sister's Sister

  • The Five-Year Engagement

  • Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

  • The Adjustment Bureau

  • Gnomeo & Juliet

  • Gulliver's Travels

1 of 10

Emily Blunt Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Feb 23, 1983
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Tall, radiant, and sensual, British ingenue Emily Blunt caught the attention of the public and press when she starred (at age 20) opposite [[Performer~P412767~Natalie Press~nataliepress]] in [[Performer~P241274~Pawel Pawlikowski~pawelpawlikowski]]'s gentle, finely told lesbian romance [[Feature~V313744~My Summer of Love~mysummeroflove]] (2004). In the eyes of many Americans, Blunt (who counted this as her first cinematic credit) seemed to arrive at the top instantaneously. In truth, Blunt -- a London native -- had established herself on British television (largely in BBC productions) several years prior.

[[Feature~V313744~Summer~mysummeroflove]], however, represented the actress' big global break. She plays a sexually experienced and playfully manipulative teen who seduces the younger and more impressionable [[Performer~P412767~Press~nataliepress]] into an impassioned love affair, while the latter's brother ([[Performer~P271580~Paddy Considine~paddyconsidine]]) becomes a born-again evangelical Christian and carries his faith to torturous, alienating extremes. The work garnered enthusiastic notices and performed well on the international festival circuit; it thus marked a fortuitous and brazenly intelligent cinematic bow for a young actress. Newsweek's [[Performer~P462529~David Ansen~davidansen]] was not alone when he tagged Blunt (along with her co-star, [[Performer~P412767~Press~nataliepress]]) as a "major discovery." Variety's [[Performer~P454825~Derek Elley~derekelley]] observed, "Blunt's perf as the mysterious, mixed-up Tamsin grows, adding a sense of menace which coincides with...[[Performer~P271580~Considine~paddyconsidine]]'s loony Phil."

After a supporting role in the U.S. miniseries [[Feature~V332296~Empire~empire]] (about the Roman Empire), Blunt landed her second major break -- and culled even broader exposure -- with a supporting role in [[Performer~P90378~David Frankel~davidfrankel]]'s bittersweet drama [[Feature~V336015~The Devil Wears Prada~thedevilwearsprada]]. As Emily, the obnoxious (yet soft-hearted) assistant to fashion mogul Miranda Priestly ([[Performer~P68676~Meryl Streep~merylstreep]]), Blunt delivered a colorful and impressive performance. As a result, she received a 2007 Golden Globe nomination for Best Supporting Actress. Although she lost out to [[Performer~P454405~Jennifer Hudson~jenniferhudson]] at that ceremony, Blunt won the award for Best Supporting Actress in a Television Series, Mini-Series, or Motion Picture Made for Television for her work opposite [[Performer~P52695~Bill Nighy~billnighy]] in [[Feature~V341775~Gideon's Daughter~gideonsdaughter]].

Blunt followed [[Feature~V336015~Prada~thedevilwearsprada]] up with planned supporting roles in such features as [[Feature~V327679~The Snow Goose~thesnowgoose]] (2006), [[Feature~V375866~The Girl in the Park~thegirlinthepark]] (2007), [[Feature~V342791~Wind Chill~windchill]] (2007), [[Feature~V352075~The Great Buck Howard~thegreatbuckhoward]] (2007), and [[Feature~V379686~The Jane Austen Book Club~thejaneaustenbookclub]] (2007).

In 2009 Blunt scored her largest starring role to date as the title character in the costume drama The Young Victoria. In 2010 she married The Office star John Krasinski, and in that same year they co-starred together in Gulliver's Travels. The couple would also each appear in cameo roles in 2011's The Muppets, written and co-starring Jason Segel with whom Blunt would co-star in the 2012 romantic comedy The Five-Year Engagement and rounded out her 2012 with the Golden Globe nominated Salmon Fishing in Yemen, romantic dramedy Your Sister's Sister and the sci-fi action thriller Looper. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement