Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • High Fidelity

At Home
  • College

  • Unstable Fables: Tortoise vs. Hare - The...

  • Superhero Movie

  • Yours, Mine & Ours

  • High Fidelity

  • The Neon Bible

  • Jerry Maguire

1 of 7

Drake Bell Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Jared Drake Bell

A performer who carries equal weight in the twin arenas of pop recording and film and television acting, Drake Bell first staked out a career as an actor, signing for his premiere small-screen commercial at age five, in the early '90s. Bell commenced A-list film roles by 1996, when he made a memorable impression as a sports figure's son who bitterly curses agent [[Performer~P86295~Tom Cruise~tomcruise]] in [[Performer~P86281~Cameron Crowe~cameroncrowe]]'s drama [[Feature~V136645~Jerry Maguire~jerrymaguire]]. Following small guest turns on such blockbuster series as [[Feature~V313209~The Drew Carey Show~thedrewcareyshow[tvseries]]] (1997) and [[Feature~V276165~Seinfeld~seinfeld[tvseries]]] (1998), Bell joined the cast of the Nickelodeon variety series [[Feature~V309722~The Amanda Show~theamandashow[tvseries]]] (1999-2002), as a regular member of the program's resident sketch comedy ensemble. In 2002, the show took its final bow, but Bell and co-star [[Performer~P275789~Josh Peck~joshpeck]] received their own spin-off sitcom, also on Nickelodeon: [[Feature~V321409~Drake & Josh~drakejosh[tvseries]]] (2004).

Meanwhile, Bell began to pursue musical interests, and established himself as a pop-rock star, thanks in no small part to the tutelage of [[Performer~P76088~the Who~thewho]]'s [[Performer~P16691~Roger Daltrey~rogerdaltrey]], whom he met on the set of the 2001 telemovie [[Feature~V242615~Chasing Destiny~chasingdestiny]], and who reportedly gave Drake his first music lessons. As a performer, Drake bore self-professed (and unmissable) stylistic ties to [[Performer~P4797~the Beatles~thebeatles]], as well as echoes of [[Performer~P4719~the Beach Boys~thebeachboys]] and [[Performer~P107032~Elvis Presley~elvispresley]]. Bell's recording career in fact neatly dovetailed with the debut of [[Feature~V321409~Drake & Josh~drakejosh[tvseries]]] on two levels: he both recorded the theme song and played a slightly exaggerated version of his guitarist self on the program. The up-and-comer self-produced his first album, {^Telegraph}, in 2005, and its success prompted Universal Records to sign him for a sophomore release, the 2006 {^It's Only Time}.

Alongside these efforts, Bell's acting efforts continued unabated, and he geared up for big-screen leads in the 2008 comedies [[Feature~V395856~College~college]] and [[Feature~V343376~Superhero~superheromovie]] -- the latter an [[Feature~V1306~Airplane!~airplane]]-style farce skewering the clichés of superhero movies. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement