Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Donnie Yen doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Dragon

  • The Huadu Chronicles: Blade of the Rose

  • Legend of the Fist: The Return of Chen Zhen

  • Ip Man 2: Legend of the Grandmaster

  • Ip Man

  • Painted Skin

  • Flash Point

  • Dragon Tiger Gate

  • Alex Rider: Operation Stormbreaker

  • Seven Swords

1 of 10

Donnie Yen Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Action Director
  • Born: Jul 27, 1963
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A sharp-skilled martial artist who has gone on to a successful career as a director and choreographer, Donnie Yen has found success in both his homeland China and in the hustle and bustle of Tinsletown. Working on projects ranging from the traditional Chinese martial-arts period piece [[Feature~V173671~Once Upon a Time in China II~onceuponatimeinchinaii]] (1992) to the bone-crunching science fiction-vampire opus [[Feature~V259833~Blade II~bladeii]], Yen has distinguished himself as a formidable figure in the ranks of action cinema.
Born in Canton, China, in July 1963, Yen's family moved to Hong Kong when Yen was two, again relocating to Boston, MA, when he was 11. It was in Boston that his mother, Bow Sim-Mark, a famous Wushu and Tai Chi master, ran the internationally famous Chinese Wushu Research Institute. A musically inclined youngster who excelled at the piano, Yen was educated by his mother in the martial arts from the moment he took his first steps. An addiction to Hong Kong cinema only fueled the energetic teenager's love for martial arts, and Yen would frequently find himself emulating the awe-inspiring moves of such film legends as [[Performer~P41139~Bruce Lee~brucelee]] and [[Performer~P84650~Jackie Chan~jackiechan]]. Worried that Yen spent a little too much of his time in Boston's notorious Combat Zone, his concerned parents sent him to Beijing on a two-year training program with the Beijing Wushu Team. Studying alongside such future stars as [[Performer~P42291~Jet Li~jetli]], Yen began to build the confidence and self-discipline to become a Wushu master; he also made history as the first non-PRC Chinese to be accepted to the school. Fate intervened at a pit stop in Hong Kong en route back to his home in Boston, and Yen's chance meeting with legendary filmmaker/choreographer/action director [[Performer~P194746~Yuen Woo-Ping~yuenwooping]] served as the inspiration Yen was seeking to break into the film industry. After appearing in minor roles in such 1980s [[Performer~P194746~Woo-Ping~yuenwooping]] films as [[Feature~V227709~Tai Chi Master~drunkentaichi]] (1984) and [[Feature~V259485~Tiger Cage~tigercage]] (1988), Yen received his breakout role in director [[Performer~P93443~Tsui Hark~tsuihark]]'s massively popular [[Feature~V173671~Once Upon a Time in China II~onceuponatimeinchinaii]] (1992). Cast opposite peer [[Performer~P42291~Jet Li~jetli]], the duo engaged in a pair of fight scenes that would rank among the most inventive and exhilarating in martial arts film history. Even opposite such formidable talent as [[Performer~P42291~Li~jetli]], Yen's creative fighting skills were so effective that he was nominated for Best Supporting Actor at the 1992 Hong Kong Film Awards.
Later turning to the small screen to perfect his cinematic fighting skills and sharpen his abilities as a director, Yen began to earn a reputation as a director of unparalleled focus who was always able to deliver in even the most discouraging film shoots. Aiming to create films that would not only thrill, but stir the emotions deep within an audience, Yen made his feature directorial debut with 1997's [[Feature~V160093~Legend of the Wolf~legendofthewolf]]. Drawing from his choreography experiences on such films as [[Feature~V133630~Iron Monkey~ironmonkey]] (1993) and [[Feature~V151110~Wing Chun~wingchun]] (1994) and combining them with his experience as a filmmaker, Yen made little impact at the Hong Kong box office with [[Feature~V160093~Legend of the Wolf~legendofthewolf]], though the upbeat filmmaker would continue to refine his skills both at home and abroad. Subsequent efforts such as [[Feature~V180257~Ballistic Kiss~ballistickiss]] (1998) and City of Darkness (1999) found Yen entering [[Performer~P117248~John Woo~johnwoo]] territory in terms of cinematic style, and prominent appearances in such popular American films as [[Feature~V209839~Highlander: Endgame~highlander:endgame]] (2000) and [[Feature~V259833~Blade II~bladeii]] (2002) (both of which found Yen serving double-duty as fight choreographer in addition to acting) found his audience expanding and his skills as a choreographer in increasing demand. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement