Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Don Hartman doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Gay Deception

  • Wonder Man

  • Every Girl Should Be Married

  • Holiday Affair

  • The Princess and the Pirate

  • Mr. Imperium

  • Desire under the Elms

  • Down to Earth

  • Road to Singapore

  • Road to Zanzibar

1 of 10

Don Hartman Biography

  • Profession: Screenwriter, Producer, Director
  • Born: Nov 18, 1900
  • Died: Mar 23, 1958

Former journeyman actor Don Hartman settled down in New York in the mid-1920s to write lyrics and librettos for Broadway shows and special material for radio and nightclubs. In films from 1930, Hartman was busiest at Paramount Pictures, where he co-scripted the first three [[Performer~P33168~Bob Hope~bobhope]]-[[Performer~P15874~Bing Crosby~bingcrosby]] "Road" pictures and worked extensively on Hope and [[Performer~P207783~Crosby~crosby]]'s solo vehicles. Moving to Sam Goldwyn's operation in 1944, Hartman helped forge the screen image of [[Performer~P96949~Danny Kaye~dannykaye]] in [[Feature~V51959~Up in Arms~upinarms]] (1944), [[Feature~V55174~Wonder Man~wonderman]] (1945) and [[Feature~V27200~The Kid From Brooklyn~thekidfrombrooklyn]] (1946). He went on to produce and direct his own scripts, turning out such light comedies as [[Performer~P61099~Ginger Rogers~gingerrogers]]' [[Feature~V96854~It Had to Be You~ithadtobeyou]] (1947) and [[Performer~P28204~Cary Grant~carygrant]]'s [[Feature~V16209~Every Girl Should Be Married~everygirlshouldbemarried]] (1948). Don Hartman was put in charge of production at his old stamping grounds of Paramount in 1951; five years later he formed his own production company, using Paramount as the distributor for [[Feature~V13389~Desire Under the Elms~desireundertheelms]] (1958) and The Matchmaker (1958). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement