Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Dracula Untold

  • Need for Speed

1 of 2
At Home
  • Summer in February

  • Need for Speed

  • Reasonable Doubt

  • Dead Man Down

  • Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

  • My Week With Marilyn

  • The Devil's Double

  • Captain America: The First Avenger

  • Tamara Drewe

  • An Education

1 of 10

Dominic Cooper Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jun 2, 1978
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A rough-cut British actor with a dark and slightly brooding presence, Dominic Cooper initially cut his chops on the London and Gotham stages, with two very different roles: adventurer Will Parry in the Royal National Theatre's epic production of [[Performer~P348306~Philip Pullman~philippullman]]'s iconoclastic fantasy His Dark Materials, and that of the womanizer Dakin in the Broadway run of [[Performer~P81399~Alan Bennett~alanbennett]]'s The History Boys. Cooper earned favorable notices for each; the success of [[Feature~V332067~Boys~thehistoryboys]] prompted BBC Two Films and Fox Searchlight to launch a film adaptation in late 2006, also featuring Cooper.

Though [[Feature~V332067~Boys~thehistoryboys]] scarcely represented Cooper's cinematic debut (he appeared in [[Performer~P96396~Neil Jordan~neiljordan]]'s [[Feature~V323799~Breakfast on Pluto~breakfastonpluto]] a couple of years prior, among other films), it did prove a watershed, spurring the young actor on to additional film work. In subsequent years, the thespian played Willoughby in [[Performer~P560489~John Alexander~johnalexander]]'s U.K. television miniseries [[Feature~V429757~Sense and Sensibility~senseandsensibility]] (2008), adapted from the novel by [[Performer~P315531~Jane Austen~janeausten]]; cut against type as an imprisoned white-collar criminal in the Wyatt Brothers' thriller [[Feature~V427977~The Escapist~theescapist]] (2008); and essayed a supporting role as Sky, Sophie's ([[Performer~P384545~Amanda Seyfried~amandaseyfried]]) fiancé, in [[Performer~P455991~Phyllida Lloyd~phyllidalloyd]]'s big-screen [[Performer~P24~ABBA~abba]] musical [[Feature~V385390~Mamma Mia!~mammamia]] (2008).

From there, Cooper's career took off. He played future British Prime Minister Charles Grey and Keira Knightley's lover in the costume-drama The Dutchess (2008), followed by a supporting role in the Oscar-nominated An Education (2009), for which he shared a Screen Actor's Guild nomination for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture. Cooper had a busy 2011, first playing Howard Stark (also known as Tony Stark's father) in Captain America: The First Avenger; followed by a commanding performance in the dual roles of Uday Hussein and his look-a-like in The Devil's Double; and finally, a smaller part as famed photographer Milton H. Greene in My Week With Marilyn. He next took a role in Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter (2012), playing Lincoln's mentor in vampire hunting. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement