Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • All the President's Men

  • The Godfather Part II

1 of 2
At Home
  • The Public Eye

  • On the Yard

  • The Night We Never Met

  • Mr. Popper's Penguins

  • Second Sight

  • Adrift in Manhattan

  • King of the Corner

  • The Godfather Part II

  • When Will I Be Loved

  • Unfaithful

1 of 10

Dominic Chianese Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Feb 24, 1931
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

After decades of honing his acting skills on stage and screen, and eventually carving out a niche for himself as a "gangster," Dominic Chianese came upon his most widely recognized role as Uncle Junior on the hit HBO mob series [[Feature~V186627~The Sopranos~thesopranos[tvseries]]], beginning in 1999. Born in 1931, in Bronx, NY, Chianese attended Brooklyn College, and began appearing on-stage in 1952. He would appear on and off-Broadway in theater for over 45 years before his famous role on [[Feature~V186627~The Sopranos~thesopranos[tvseries]]], adding film and television to his repertoire along the way.
After his first film role in 1972, as a panhandler in a drama called [[Feature~V19029~Fuzz~fuzz]], he embarked on what would become the trademark of his career with his first gangster role, as Johnny Ola in [[Performer~P85868~Coppola~francisfordcoppola]]'s [[Feature~V20078~The Godfather Pt. II~thegodfatherpartii]] (1974), the classic, starring [[Performer~P54596~Al Pacino~alpacino]]. Chianese also appeared in [[Feature~V1613~All the President's Men~allthepresidentsmen]] in 1976, and would work with [[Performer~P54596~Pacino~alpacino]] again in the 1979 thriller [[Feature~V2201~...And Justice for All~andjusticeforall]].
Throughout the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s, Chianese had numerous roles of all kinds from major feature films to stage to made-for-TV movies. He was featured in [[Feature~V18269~Fort Apache, the Bronx~fortapachethebronx]] in 1981, and had a small role in [[Performer~P54596~Pacino~alpacino]]'s [[Feature~V135847~Looking for Richard~lookingforrichard]] in 1996. In 1999, HBO debuted its mobster series [[Feature~V186627~The Sopranos~thesopranos[tvseries]]], starring [[Performer~P25753~James Gandolfini~jamesgandolfini]], and Chianese's long-term experience acting in all kinds of mob-related roles finally paid off with his part as Corrado "Uncle Junior" Soprano. The series earned incredible success, and in 2001, Chianese was nominated for an Emmy Award for outstanding supporting actor in a drama series for his role on the program. In 2002, he was featured in [[Performer~P100466~Adrian Lyne~adrianlyne]]'s drama [[Feature~V261807~Unfaithful~unfaithful]], starring [[Performer~P40350~Diane Lane~dianelane]], [[Performer~P26545~Richard Gere~richardgere]], and [[Performer~P200431~Olivier Martinez~oliviermartinez]]. ~ Sarah Sloboda, Rovi

Advertisement